Jump to content



Photo

Questions about localization


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:01 PM

Hello guys!

I live in Russia and we have plenty of boardgames fans. But most of them are pretty bad know English and we have a problems with the translation of the some Action and Politics cards. Yes, we have a fan translation of the all Action and Politics cards, but it takes a very long time to found translate for each card for each player. So I decided to make a full localization of the game. This is not for sale, not for the money, just fan prints to help a playing. The idea is to make a proportional prints of all cards and put them into protect sleeves. I've already done most of the work. But I need help to translating some hard-translating cards.

 

First of them is the Munity Political Card. I translate this card like this:

1) For: Each player who votes "for" gain 1 Victory Point

2) Against: Each player who votes "for" loses 1 Victory Point

Is this correct?

 

The next question is about Archived Secret Political Card.

I translate it like this: Chosen player can take 1 additional Secret Objective card, so he can gain Victory Points from his both Secret Objective cards.

Is this a right translation?



#2 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:34 PM

 Correct on both.

Bear in mind that you cannot claim both secret objectives at the same time: Only one public and one secret objective can be claimed in status phase.



#3 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:11 AM

Thank you very much.



#4 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 06:55 PM

One more question about L1z1x racial technology Inheritance Systems.

The card says: When researching Technology using the Technology Strategy Card, you may spend 2 additional resources to ignore Technology's prerequisites.

What does it mean "using the Technology Strategy Card"? Is this equivalent to "Using it's primary ability" or I can ignore prerequisites just play it's secondary ability?

At one of the forums about TI3 I've seen that I can ignore only 1 prerequisit, but card and FAQ don't say anything about it. So I ignored this phrase.



#5 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:24 AM

Priceless said:

One more question about L1z1x racial technology Inheritance Systems.

The card says: When researching Technology using the Technology Strategy Card, you may spend 2 additional resources to ignore Technology's prerequisites.

What does it mean "using the Technology Strategy Card"? Is this equivalent to "Using it's primary ability" or I can ignore prerequisites just play it's secondary ability?

At one of the forums about TI3 I've seen that I can ignore only 1 prerequisit, but card and FAQ don't say anything about it. So I ignored this phrase.

Inheritance systems lets you disregard one technology prerequisite wether you gain a technology by the primary OR secondary ability of the Tech Strategy Card.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#6 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:00 PM

Bad news. I have not seen this in FAQ. Where it is written?



#7 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 08:42 PM

 Unlike the action card that allows a prerequisite to be skipped, Inheritance system uses plural - which means you can skip both prerequisites. In effect, if you have Inheritance Systems, Enviro Compensator and Hylar V laser, you can buy War Sun tech



#8 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:34 PM

So one or two prerequisites, that is the question?



#9 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:34 PM

My bad. Plural it is. That means that you may skip ALL prerequisites for a tech if you own Inheritance Systems and pay 2 resources.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#10 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 12:20 AM

Ok. Can I take an Assault Cannon at 2 round of game?

Assault Cannon has 2 prerequisites: Cybernetics and Automated Defense Turrets. With Inheritance Systems, which I can take at 1 tound,  I can skip both, isnt it?



#11 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 02:24 AM

As I interpret the rules, yes. Provided, of course, that you have the extra resources to spare on first getting Inheritance Systems and then using it. If you can manage that by round 2 you've probably had some luck with the Distant Sun tokens.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#12 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:30 PM

Thank you. Now I know that all the previous games with L1z1x we've played correct.



#13 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:34 PM

Today I finished the russian localization of the Twilight Imperium and both it's expansions. I translated all the cards, adjusted the size of prints to orginal card size and cut out the frames on all cards with an artworks, such as Representatives and Mercenaries cards. And put the prints into protective sleeves over original cards.

The results of localization you can see here:



#14 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 01:49 AM

I'm not any good at russian or the kyrillic alphabet but what I see is looking good.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#15 Aeonim

Aeonim

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:33 PM

Stunning :)

 

I like the cutouts, and especially the coloured prerequisites on the Tech-Cards :D

 

That you kept specific terms for rule-clarification in brackets is also noteworthy :)

 

I suppose some problems within sets of rules or the need for clarification only arise during translation of a game beforehand. Thinking about it, translation breaks a game down to it's "code" again, before being rephrased in the/(an-) other language… So of course, probable errors and bad phrasing than become more obvious.



#16 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:29 PM

 I love how you put Brothers Qquiar "bodyguard" in plural :)



#17 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 12:24 AM

Thank you!

When I did the translation, I decided that since they were brothers, they must be bodyguards, not bodyguard.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS