Jump to content



Photo

Bloodthirster


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 02:22 AM

A couple Bloodthirster questions:

text reads "Damage can not be cancelled" This means that all damage assigned by Bloodthirster can not be canceled, correct? This is not a "card effect" that targets a specific unit, but rather a constant effect that doesn't "target", similar to troll vomit, right?

Another question that arose during last night's game:

Bloodthirster is attacking with 1 Savage Marauders and1 Marauding Giant, dealing a total of 10 damage (2, 3 and 5 respectively).If the Dwarfs defend with cards that have toughness, how does this work? Toughness states that x amount (different cards had different toughness) may be cancelled, but Bloodthirster's text states that damage can not be canceled. Is Bloodsthirster's 5 damage "un-cancelable", but some of the other 5 damage can be canceled? Is it my option to which defenders I assign Bloodthirster's damage, then the Giant's and the Marauders? For instance, could I assign the Bloodthirster's damage to the units with toughness so that their toughness is negated, then assign my other units' damage to other dwarf units? This made combat kinda confusing last night.

His text also states that all players must sacrifice a unit in the corresponding zone at the beginning of my turn. If I only have Bloodthirster in that zone, I must sacrifice him, correct? If the other player has no units in that corresponding zone, then he just does nothing then, right?

Thanks!


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp


#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 515 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:07 AM

Bloddthirster's effect is a constant one that makes all damage uncancellable. All damage, not just the one dealt by Bloodthirster. It's not targeted.

 

Units in combat pool their damage.

 

When an effect includes the word "cannot", that effect is absolute and cannot be overwritten by other effects. So toughness simply doesn't work while Bloodthirster is in play.

 

You're correct about the sacrifice part.



#3 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 04:32 AM

Thanks Mallumo. So that's ALL damage, for every player, not just Chaos, then, huh?


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp


#4 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:24 PM

Would that mean that Keystone Forge and Contested Fortress's effects of healing damage could not work while Bloodthirster is in play?


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp


#5 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:33 PM

There is a difference between heal and cancelling. You can cancelling the damage only when this is assigned. You can heal the damage only when the damage is apply.

 

assign damage + apply damage = deal damage

So in your case the Fortress can't work but the Forge yes.



#6 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 04:39 PM

Horatius: Yeah, I realized that when looking at the cards again… :)


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS