Jump to content



Photo

How many times Matrix Analyzer can place tokens during a single encounter?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 echoMateria

echoMateria

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 12:28 AM

Matrix Analyzer (#89)

Matrix Analyzer's ability of placing advancement tokens isn't a subroutine like most ICE, so I'm not sure about how many times you can use it during a single encounter. The card doesn't specifically state that you can only use this ability once. I know that the logic would say doing that more than once would make the card overpowered, but I'd rather not get into arguments over this when playing with friends when everyone believes that they are the logical one. Any ideas? Can I pay 10 credits to put ten advancement tokens all around? If not, where does the rules explain this?



#2 ChaosChild

ChaosChild

    Member

  • Members
  • 526 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:53 AM

The trigger for this effect is the runner encountering the ICE, so every time this happens you play the effect once. You can only pay once to place one counter, because the card specifies that number. If it was intended that you could place multiple counters it would say something along the lines of "you may pay X [credits] to place X advancement tokens".



#3 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:58 PM

It's because a conditional ability (an ability that has a trigger, but no cost) resolves only once each time its trigger happens.



#4 echoMateria

echoMateria

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:30 AM

Cell Portal (#74)

Thanks for the replies. Then I guess it'd make an interesting combination with Cell Portal (#74).



#5 Watcher

Watcher

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:18 AM

 I'm new to the game and waiting for it to be delivered. I've been reading posts to get my fix and learn about it before I actually receive it. This post struck me as particularly interesting. How would you build a combo out of those two? It's just not coming to me intuitively.



#6 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,373 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:33 AM

I'm new to the game and waiting for it to be delivered. I've been reading posts to get my fix and learn about it before I actually receive it. This post struck me as particularly interesting. How would you build a combo out of those two? It's just not coming to me intuitively.

 

Cell portal would push the runner back to the outermost piece of ice (front piece) and if Matrix Analyzer is there the corp would be able to pay 1 credit again.



#7 Watcher

Watcher

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:41 AM

Toqtamish said:

 

Cell portal would push the runner back to the outermost piece of ice (front piece) and if Matrix Analyzer is there the corp would be able to pay 1 credit again.

 

Oh I see! That first sentence of the subroutine reads like a condition or a trigger, but it's an action. The minimalist writing of a CCG often throws me until I get used to it.

 

Thank you very much!



#8 byronczimmer

byronczimmer

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:04 AM

one trigger: runner encounters ICE

one resolution: may play 1 credit to place 1 advancement token

 

 



#9 Watcher

Watcher

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:30 AM

byronczimmer said:

one trigger: runner encounters ICE

one resolution: may play 1 credit to place 1 advancement token

 

 

 

Hi Bryron,

I appreciate that you tried to help, but Matrix Analyzer wasn’t the card that actually confused me. You misunderstood. It was Cell Portal.

I find that the first sentence of the Cell Portal subroutine can be taken as instruction as what to do, or as a trigger, depending on how you look at it. Clearly one interpretation makes much more sense than the other. I’m no longer confused, the gentlemen who posted before you did helped me out, and I now I understand. Thank you anyway!
 



#10 TBossAZ

TBossAZ

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:34 PM

 For Cell Portal, that effect is just a subroutine that the Runner can break with the right kind of ice breaker, correct?



#11 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:28 PM

TBossAZ said:

 For Cell Portal, that effect is just a subroutine that the Runner can break with the right kind of ice breaker, correct?

Correct. But if he can't/won't, he's back to square 1.



#12 kaffis

kaffis

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 11:46 AM

Watcher said:

Oh I see! That first sentence of the subroutine reads like a condition or a trigger, but it's an action. The minimalist writing of a CCG often throws me until I get used to it.

The symbol at the beginning is the key, there. That symbol indicates that the line following it is a subroutine, which will never have a condition. Thus, the text associated with a subroutine is always text describing what happens when the subroutine fires.



#13 Watcher

Watcher

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:10 PM

kaffis said:

Watcher said:

Oh I see! That first sentence of the subroutine reads like a condition or a trigger, but it's an action. The minimalist writing of a CCG often throws me until I get used to it.

 

The symbol at the beginning is the key, there. That symbol indicates that the line following it is a subroutine, which will never have a condition. Thus, the text associated with a subroutine is always text describing what happens when the subroutine fires.

 

I see, so if there was a trigger or condition, it would be before the subroutine mark?

 

(Man, I can't wait to get my box!)



#14 kaffis

kaffis

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 03:23 AM

Correct, if I'm reading you right. Something that appears before the subroutines would have a trigger defined with it. Reference NBN ice like Tollbooth or Data Raven.

 

Subroutines themselves have an implicit trigger that would read something like "when the runner opts not to break this subroutine…"



#15 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 09:46 PM

echoMateria said:

Cell Portal (#74)

Thanks for the replies. Then I guess it'd make an interesting combination with Cell Portal (#74).

 

Interesting? Yes! But hardly very powerful as cell portal is derezzed and quite expensive, so you could trigger matrix twice (if the runner doesn't break the subroutine) after that it's too expensive, trading four cred for one click. Thinking about it, I'm not even sure if I'd cut that deal even once (although their might be some nasty ICE installed in between Matrix and the Portal).

Although I have to admit that I've played only once so far (with Jinteki) and was always low on funds.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#16 USP45

USP45

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:30 AM

As a side note, if the Corp kicks the Runner back to square 1, the Runner can just jack out if he/she doesn't want the Corp to be able to pay that 1 cred for the advancement again.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS