• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 spalanzani

spalanzani

• Members
  • 807 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 11:20 PM

Hi folks,

I'm new to the world of Talisman, having had the game arrive barely two hours ago, but pretty much from the unboxing I'm sure this is a game I will come to love :) I bought it with the Frostmarch and Sacred Pool expansions, as they were the cheapest out there, and already I'm keen to get more. I'm going to give it the once over later, having seen a solo variant on BGG that I hope will cement the mechanics etc, then will be getting my first game in when I can coerce a friend over on Monday.

Anyhow, as a devoted Runebound fan, and an expansion obsessee, I'm wondering where to go next with this. Are there any recommended expansions to add on, or is it a case of just go for whatever takes my fancy?

And how come everyone seems to be expecting certain things to come up in future releases? I read a bit of the post about this upcoming City expansion, and there was a tone of "so it's this one they're going with next, then", as if there's a list somewhere that people can tick off. I know this is the 4th edition - did the previous three have massive runs, so it's just a case of seeing third edition (or earlier) expansions being revised and rereleased as compatible with the 4th edition base game?

Thanks for your time :)

Mark 

www.spalanz.com - everything you never wanted to know about me, in one place.

#2 talismanisland

talismanisland

Harbourmaster

• Members
  • 1,931 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 11:33 PM

Good choice on first expansions and if cost effectiveness is part of your remit, then The Reaper would be the best bet. Can't beat increasing the Adventure deck to dizzying heights!