Jump to content



Photo

2 Questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Tomer

Tomer

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 04:04 AM

 1.

Can someone kill his own unit somewhere on the map in order for being able to muster a unit somewhere else on the map?
Or just the basic question out  of it is: Can you remove units from your army at will?

 

2.

the friends a played with decided that the house cards are always open for everybody to look at during the game.
Meaning you can look at the car of a player you want to attack before you attack and then make a decision to attack or not.

Their excuse is that people that already played the game before and/or with better memory will remember all the cards the other players got in their hands and so will get a benefit on others.

I pretty much call that logic BS, and think that it cancel most of the fun of playing the card.

What to you think about this?
and How will you deal with those people?

 

oh, another one

3.

two players showed each other their cards during the game in order to plan how they will attack each other and which card will do the less damage to the other since one wanted to capture the castle, the other wanted to give it and they didn't want to hurt each other during the fight.

Your thought about that and How to deal with it.

 

Thanks.

 



#2 Joeyk1985

Joeyk1985

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 02:37 PM

 1. I'm not sure myself, but I think you're not allowed to do that…

2. At any point in the game, your allowd tocheck any other player's house cards in hand and in his discard pile.

it is stated explicitly in the rulebook (only exception is after choosing one for combat resolution purpose- phase 3 of combat)

 

3. they can do whatever they want. Only showing what they are choosing as house cards is prohibited…

They can agree before hans, but backstabbing and holding a bargain is up to every player's choice …and tactics of deceit!)



#3 Tomer

Tomer

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:40 PM

I thought that you are only allowed to see the discard pile and this is why you leave it face up, otherwise, what the point? Just leave all your cards face up all the time.

ok, I see it at the rules book.
the first 2 times I played we didn't show each others the house cards only those that are in the discard and it was much more fun cause we didn't really know what to expect.

I'm still looking for an answer about the removing your own unit from the about anytime you feel like in order to make room for new units to muster.
 

also while I'm at it:

Do you know if the Garrison returns back to the home stronghold after it is returning to it's original owner?

 

 



#4 Tbla

Tbla

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:27 PM

 About the garrisons:

"If a Garrison is defeated in combat (whether defending by itself
or with other friendly units), it is permanently removed from the
game, regardless of the number of Sword or Fortification icons on
House cards played in the combat."  (Rulebook p.26)

The phrasing permanently suggests that it doesn't come back.



#5 Tomer

Tomer

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 11:02 PM

 Thanks for the reply guys.

I guess I should have read the rules again. I missed those two.

Garrison is permanently removed from board and House Cards are always visible for all with the exception of the Choose House Card in Combat Phase.

All I'm left with is that first Question I asked about removing your own units from the board as you wish and not by dying in combat.



#6 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 386 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 03:42 AM

Units may only be removed under the conditions described in the Rulebook:

1. Combat Casualties & Retreat/Routing

2. Adjusting Supply

3. Wildling Card Resolution

You may NOT remove them for other reasons - such as wanting to Muster, but being restricted by Supply.



#7 Tomer

Tomer

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:29 AM

kauai1964 said:

Units may only be removed under the conditions described in the Rulebook:

1. Combat Casualties & Retreat/Routing

2. Adjusting Supply

3. Wildling Card Resolution

You may NOT remove them for other reasons - such as wanting to Muster, but being restricted by Supply.

Thank you.
I really appreciate it.

It really messed up the game when players started killing units in order to muster.



#8 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 07:53 PM

 Well actually there is a way. lets say I want to remove one ship in order to muster somewhere else in the map as a Stark for example.

I first put 2 ships together somewhere on the mpa, then Imuster enough troops elsewhere in order to break the supply rule, so I am forced to remove one of my units, I choose then to remove my unwanted boat.

That would be a legal way to do it istnt it? you are not restricted to muster, you are forced to correct, that can be leveraged. 



#9 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 386 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:25 AM

Rulebook, Page 9:

"A player may never muster a unit that would create or
expand an army beyond his actual supply limit. In other words,
if mustering a new unit would cause a player to have more (or
larger) armies than allowed by his position on the Supply track,
that unit cannot be mustered."



#10 Tbla

Tbla

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:13 AM

kauai1964 said:

Rulebook, Page 9:

"A player may never muster a unit that would create or
expand an army beyond his actual supply limit. In other words,
if mustering a new unit would cause a player to have more (or
larger) armies than allowed by his position on the Supply track,
that unit cannot be mustered."

I agree, correction is only allowed after adjusting the supply.



#11 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 02:45 AM






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS