Jump to content



Photo

OL vs Heroes. Frozen Spire. Blowout?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Carnagecjb

Carnagecjb

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:09 AM

 I've been discussing this on BGG, without much resolution.

Our group recently tried to run through Frozen Spire.  I kept both Dash cards in my hand from part one.  (Victory in part one went to the OL, but that isn't a terribly large impact on part two.)

We played through part two four times (with varying monster selections), at least, and I, as the OL, averaged a win at about the two turn mark.  Sometimes it took longer, once, I won on the first turn.

What kind of experiences does everyone else have with this level?

Does anyone see it as being remotely possible for the heroes to win, if the OL has two dash cards in hand at the start of part two?



#2 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:21 AM

I don't understand how the extra dash cards help you.  Was there less than four heroes?  Even if there were two, they can block your pathway and you can't win until you knockout a hero and can get past them.



#3 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:22 AM

Overly basic question, but did you remember to start the heroes on the red "X" instead of at the entrance?  If they were on the X, you could have had 40 dash cards and you weren't going to win the game.



#4 Carnagecjb

Carnagecjb

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:59 AM

 Actually, to be perfectly honest, the very first time we ran through this, they started on the entrance.

That was such a terrible occasion that we all re-read the rules, and had (somehow) all missed starting on the red X.  That was adjusted for subsequent run-throughs.

Based on the size of the dungeon, and the fact that the two monster groups start where they do, it was just about impossible for the heroes to both advance, and block my monsters.

One of my wins was due to using goblin archers, and their "scamper".

I used Dark Charm to move one of the heroes out of the way, and a large monster moved past, opened the door, and continued on his merry way.

I used an Ettin to throw a hero out of the way, and the second one dashed to the door & beyond.

 

Something just isn't "clicking" with our group, but I'm not sure what it could be…



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,292 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 05:24 AM

Something doesn't sound right. First off, victory for the OL triggers at the start of his turn, meaning heroes always have a chance to kill the monsters at the Xs on their turn, just taking down one of them denies victory for another turn. Second, with no reinforcements before the door to the Prison is opened, the heroes have no reason to not just stall (not open the Prison door), instead just wiping out the first two groups, leaving the OL with no monsters in play. Lastly, by leaving one or two heroes to stand in front of the last door before the Exit, since it requires a monster in both spaces in front of the door to open the door, having a hero in one or both of them denies the opportunity to open the door, even for Goblin Archers, since you still have to be in an empty space, even when interrupting movement with another action, like opening a door.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 06:24 AM

Here's a dumb question: Did the OL remember that opening a door still requires an action? Even if you use small monsters like the goblin archers the 1st goblin to get to the door can't open it, then the 2nd goblin has to move to the door and spend his 2nd action to open the door. 

Just a thought.



#7 Carnagecjb

Carnagecjb

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 07:01 AM

Dam said:

First off, victory for the OL triggers at the start of his turn

 

THIS!

That is the crucial bit we missed.

We had several players read the scenario, especially after the "not starting on the entrance" bit was missed.

Somehow, ALL of us were reading it as a win as soon as the two spaces were occupied.

:P

 

I wonder how many of the other quests had some "tiny" thing like that we managed to overlook…

Thanks, everyone!



#8 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:09 PM

I know I fudged up on A Fat Goblin pretty good only counting +1 hp per stolen crop when it's actually +1 hp per hero per crop stolen. So if you have 3 heroes and 3 stolen crops you're looking at +9 hp rather than +3 hp.

I also say you should replay that encounter to the best of your ability from memory of hps and such.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS