Jump to content



Photo

Zealous hatred not stacking clarification


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 07:24 PM

It says that the critical injuries don't stack… but what does it mean? Cannot it stack onto the same spot on a target? not to the same person at all? how about the levels of critical? if you crit to a body, but with greater effect than before, is it ignored or is the more severe version applied?



#2 ShadowRay

ShadowRay

    Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:48 PM

If you get character to 0 wounds and then hit him again (let's say for 2 wounds), he gets -2 critical. Then if you damage him for another 2 wounds, he gets -4 critical and so on. However critical hits from zealous hatred doesn't stack that way. Each one is 1d5 critical no matter how injured the target is.



#3 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 603 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:41 AM

Think of it this way. Zealous Hatred doesn't actually deal damage, it just applies effects from the critical effects chart. And it only applies the effects of the first 5 options, keeping Zealous Hatred from killing a target. Though the effects of the ZH rolls do stack. For example, if you roll a stun twice, then the length of the two stuns are added together.



#4 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:03 AM

so for example, an enemy gets 2 zealous hatreds, that other one gives a 1 round stun, and other one 1 fatigue, and thus they stack. So basicly he could have criticals  1-5 on all body parts… at the same time?



#5 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:57 PM

That's not impossible no, just highly improbable (considering the amount of dice and attacks you'd need).

If you roll two 10's with a 2d10 weapon you get to apply two different ZH results (asuming you roll two different ones). Kinda funny stuff.



#6 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 603 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 11:01 AM

PnPgamer said:

so for example, an enemy gets 2 zealous hatreds, that other one gives a 1 round stun, and other one 1 fatigue, and thus they stack. So basicly he could have criticals  1-5 on all body parts… at the same time?

Not all. Remember what I said, ZH doesn't actually deal any damage, it just applies status effects that you find the critical hit tables. In addition to that, it only applies the critical effects of the location that gets hit. From your example above, the enemy hit would have, lets say ten wounds, 1 turn of being stunned, 1 fatigue, and no critical damage. No matter what, ZH cannot deal any critical damage, it only applies the effects you would get from critical damage, even if the target is at zero total wounds.

To put it another way [again], ZH does not stack critical damage, ever.



#7 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:29 PM

Yeah I got it when the first time you wrote about it. I was just stating you could have effects of 1,2,3,4,5 criticals on all body locations. Don't worry you're not the first one to misunderstand me, when I've given my 2 cents around the internet.



#8 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 603 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 11:20 PM

You could have those effects stacked at the same time, though that would be rare. Most targets would die from the sheer number of hits before ZH had any real effect.



#9 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,620 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:29 PM

BrotharTearer said:

If you roll two 10's with a 2d10 weapon you get to apply two different ZH results (asuming you roll two different ones). Kinda funny stuff.

This is not right. If any dice rolled in the attack comes up as a natural 10, then the attack may cause a spectacular hit.

Just as in previous games where 10s might cause additional damage, multiple dice simply increase your chances of scoring a "bonus", but they do not score multiple bonuses. In DH/RT etc, you got to roll one single additional d10, regardless of how many 10s you rolled on your attack. In BC, you get one single critical effect, regardless of how many 10s you rolled. 

Now, if you rolled multiple hits with a auto-burst or swift attack, however …


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#10 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:06 PM

Darth Smeg said:

 

BrotharTearer said:

 

If you roll two 10's with a 2d10 weapon you get to apply two different ZH results (asuming you roll two different ones). Kinda funny stuff.

 

 

This is not right. If any dice rolled in the attack comes up as a natural 10, then the attack may cause a spectacular hit.

Just as in previous games where 10s might cause additional damage, multiple dice simply increase your chances of scoring a "bonus", but they do not score multiple bonuses. In DH/RT etc, you got to roll one single additional d10, regardless of how many 10s you rolled on your attack. In BC, you get one single critical effect, regardless of how many 10s you rolled. 

Now, if you rolled multiple hits with a auto-burst or swift attack, however …

 

 

I checked it out, and by the wording of attack includes swift, lightining, semi-auto and full-auto. Thus it wouldn't make much difference between single or bursts of hits, if rolled same amount of dice.



#11 ShadowRay

ShadowRay

    Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 01:31 AM

PnPgamer said:

I checked it out, and by the wording of attack includes swift, lightining, semi-auto and full-auto. Thus it wouldn't make much difference between single or bursts of hits, if rolled same amount of dice.

The difference is that, for example, with lascannon you roll 5d10 but can score only one ZH no matter how many natural 10 you roll, but with 5 hits from full auto you can potentialy score 5 ZH. Makes double-wielding chainswords with lightning-atack and flesh render very fun to use as opponent has so many status effects after 1 round that he can barely stand



#12 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:05 AM

maybe I wasn't clear enough, not the first time though

Lightning attack and full auto are both attacks as a whole, thus making the zealous hatred trigger only once from a single full auto or lightning attack set. Dual wielding is an exception to this though as you are making more than one Attack(usually 2 or more with multiple arms trait).



#13 ShadowRay

ShadowRay

    Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:22 PM

It seems I've been doing it wrong all the time..



#14 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,620 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:31 AM

Good catch, PnPGamer. I agree with your arguments, and shall implement this change immediately.

This will mildly annoy my suspiciously-dice-lucky friend, but I think one crit pr burst is quite enough ;) 


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#15 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:48 PM

okay this goes a bit sidetracked from the main topic but I've been wondering about corruption and its effects

I think it was so that the failure corruption that triggers the gifting check is the only one that limits away the ability to affect the gift roll, or is there another effect that I've missed about the failure corruption? Also in many places it says that failure enrages the patron god, but the effects of this is nowhere to be seen?(or I just miss it) How does this come to in effect? does it at all?

(copied from another of my question threads as nobody seemed too interested in it…) 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS