General Expansion vs Core set question

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 pitsch

pitsch

• Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:11 AM

Ok, this may be a dumb question, but im going to ask anyway. I have bought the core set and the expansions. To get a bigger fleet, of Ties and X-Wings, would it be best to buy the core set again, 2 Tie and 1 X-wing for $25, or buy 3 Expansions for 30? i have all the expansions already as well as the core set, but i want a bigger fleet. Im still new to Mini games so i just dont know lol

Wave 5 ships are up for Pre Order!
http://www.spinninginspace.com/
Anyone in Virginia, DC, MD
https://www.facebook...vaXWingSquadron

#2 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

• Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:39 AM

For your money, you're also getting another set of dice, which is a real nice convenience. If you already have one copy of the expansions, then you know what cards come with each of them. So it comes down to which upgrade cards you want.  That second core set is really nice to have, though.

#3 DavicusPrime

DavicusPrime

• Members
  • 206 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 03:49 AM

I've been into mini wargames for a couple decades and there are some armies/factions in every game that are just more cost intensive due to the quantity of models they require.  Imperials in X-Wing are one of those armies if you don't want to run multiple TIE Adv.  Since TIEs are sooo cheap in points you just need to put more of them on the table to match an equal point value Reb list.  So any way you can shrink the per model cost is to your advantage if you're collecting Imps.