Photo

Need help building a "intro" deck for my girlfriend.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

• Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 01:20 PM

So my non-gaming girlfriend has decided to play LOTR. Are there any suggestions for building a beginner's deck (outside of the core decks) that can have a slight focus on the heroes which are also in the movies? I know, I know. I'll get her to read the books, eventually. Are there other online resources I can use? I can build a deck to complement hers, but I have a hard time building decks for people who aren't already ccg veterans from Mtg or SWCCG.  And it so happens that all my other gaming friends don't like LOTR LCG, so if I can't get her on board as a total game rookie, I'll probably ebay my stuff. I have 2 core sets and all the expansions through Watcher in the Water.

Any assistance is appreciated.

#2 richsabre

richsabre

Tea Drinker of the West

• Members
  • 4,817 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 11:28 PM

hello

you can use cardgamedb.com

just go on the lotr deck builder icon and input your card pool, then create away

a good start deck i find is dunhere/beravor/aragorn, but of course 2 of those arent in the films.

i shall have a think a post later

rich

My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

#3 Abelard

Abelard

• Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 06:29 AM

I'd try a mostly tactics deck with Legolas.  Legolas is a popular character and it's also satisfying for new players to be able to fight rather than quest.

#4 richsabre

richsabre

Tea Drinker of the West

• Members
  • 4,817 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 06:40 AM

Abelard said:

I'd try a mostly tactics deck with Legolas.  Legolas is a popular character and it's also satisfying for new players to be able to fight rather than quest.