Jump to content



Photo

First Game Rules Questions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 BigFest

BigFest

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 09:03 AM

 Hi all,

So me and a friend just finished our first game, and we both really enjoyed it. While playing, we had to scribble down some rules queries we were not too sure on. If anyone could help out, I'd really appreciate it. Here are the questions.

 

1). What happens to assigned damage if a unit is sacrificed? Here was the scenario for some context. I was playing Dwarfs, my friend was playing Orcs. He had a Rock Lobber and a Squig Herders in play. I had a Troll Slayers. All cards were in the battlefield. His Squig Herders already had one damage on them. In my turn, I attacked with the troll slayers. He defended with his Squig Herders. Then, we came to the part of the turn between assigning damage, and applying damage. At this point, obviously, the point of damage from the Troll Slayers would kill the Squig Herders, once applied. The question we had was, in this situation, could he pay two resource, and sacrifice the Squig Herders to activate the Rock Lobbers ability? If he did, what would happen to the damage that had been applied to the Squig Herders? My take was, the ability would resolve, leaving the damage to be reassigned between any remaining defenders, or the capital, as the unit had left play before the damage was applied. Is this correct?

 

2). This question is again about damage application. Say I assign lethal damage to all units defending a zone, and then have two points of damage left over to damage his capital. If he then plays an action or tactic mitigating a certain amount of damage, or buffing his units in some way, I assume I would then have to take enough damage away from his capital to once more attain lethal damage on his units? Then this damage would be applied? 

 

3). Just for clarification, cards action abilities and tactic cards work like instants in Magic the Gathering correct? They are the only things allowed to be played out of turn sequence?

 

4). Finally, just a little clarification really. When it comes to a point in the turn when we could both activate actions/tactics, who goes first? Is it whoever's turn it is?

 

Sorry for the long post. Thanks very much for all your help guys.



#2 Luckyfer

Luckyfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:11 AM

BigFest said:

 

 Hi all,

So me and a friend just finished our first game, and we both really enjoyed it. While playing, we had to scribble down some rules queries we were not too sure on. If anyone could help out, I'd really appreciate it. Here are the questions.

 

1). What happens to assigned damage if a unit is sacrificed? Here was the scenario for some context. I was playing Dwarfs, my friend was playing Orcs. He had a Rock Lobber and a Squig Herders in play. I had a Troll Slayers. All cards were in the battlefield. His Squig Herders already had one damage on them. In my turn, I attacked with the troll slayers. He defended with his Squig Herders. Then, we came to the part of the turn between assigning damage, and applying damage. At this point, obviously, the point of damage from the Troll Slayers would kill the Squig Herders, once applied. The question we had was, in this situation, could he pay two resource, and sacrifice the Squig Herders to activate the Rock Lobbers ability? If he did, what would happen to the damage that had been applied to the Squig Herders? My take was, the ability would resolve, leaving the damage to be reassigned between any remaining defenders, or the capital, as the unit had left play before the damage was applied. Is this correct?

[/QUOTE]

Nope, it's not  :)

you apply the damage, then opens an action windows in which he sacrifices the unit. the damage then is simply lost and cannot be reassigned.

Dark elves can make good use of that, blocking damage and then use slave pen to sacrifice the unit and get double benefit from it.

BigFest said:

 

 

3). Just for clarification, cards action abilities and tactic cards work like instants in Magic the Gathering correct? They are the only things allowed to be played out of turn sequence?

[/quote]

usually yes, some supply cards / unit cards can be played out of sequence, but just by some special card text, that explicitly tells you to

otherwise you can only use action and tactics in your opponents turn (and all of your phases)

a great read is the FAQ1.8 for this game, this explicitly tells you about the timing rules, that can be very tricky once you get very deep into this game.

So if you plan to play this game more excessively you might wanna read the FAQ

javascript:void(0);/*1348088969947*/

BigFest said:

 

 

4). Finally, just a little clarification really. When it comes to a point in the turn when we could both activate actions/tactics, who goes first? Is it whoever's turn it is?

 

Sorry for the long post. Thanks very much for all your help guys.

 

 

 

The active players goes first to decide if he wants to take an action or not.

Then the opposing player can respond or pass.

If he passes, the active player can pass as well (and close this action windows) or play another action to keep the chain going.

If he plays another action, the opposing player can now go again.

A Chain ends when both player pass.

 

After the first chain is resolved, now the opposing player is allowed to start a new chain. if he passes.

the active player can go again.

 

and so on

 

 

I don't get this forum's quote system, sorry my post is completely confusing and weird and I can't even delete what I wrote, it always sets it back to the original text…



#3 herzogar

herzogar

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:26 AM

Hi, and welcome to the game! I'm sure you'll come to enjoy it a great deal.

BigFest said:

 

 Hi all,

So me and a friend just finished our first game, and we both really enjoyed it. While playing, we had to scribble down some rules queries we were not too sure on. If anyone could help out, I'd really appreciate it. Here are the questions.

 

1). What happens to assigned damage if a unit is sacrificed? Here was the scenario for some context. I was playing Dwarfs, my friend was playing Orcs. He had a Rock Lobber and a Squig Herders in play. I had a Troll Slayers. All cards were in the battlefield. His Squig Herders already had one damage on them. In my turn, I attacked with the troll slayers. He defended with his Squig Herders. Then, we came to the part of the turn between assigning damage, and applying damage. At this point, obviously, the point of damage from the Troll Slayers would kill the Squig Herders, once applied. The question we had was, in this situation, could he pay two resource, and sacrifice the Squig Herders to activate the Rock Lobbers ability? If he did, what would happen to the damage that had been applied to the Squig Herders? My take was, the ability would resolve, leaving the damage to be reassigned between any remaining defenders, or the capital, as the unit had left play before the damage was applied. Is this correct?

 

2). This question is again about damage application. Say I assign lethal damage to all units defending a zone, and then have two points of damage left over to damage his capital. If he then plays an action or tactic mitigating a certain amount of damage, or buffing his units in some way, I assume I would then have to take enough damage away from his capital to once more attain lethal damage on his units? Then this damage would be applied? 

 

3). Just for clarification, cards action abilities and tactic cards work like instants in Magic the Gathering correct? They are the only things allowed to be played out of turn sequence?

 

4). Finally, just a little clarification really. When it comes to a point in the turn when we could both activate actions/tactics, who goes first? Is it whoever's turn it is?

 

Sorry for the long post. Thanks very much for all your help guys.

 

 

1.  In this scenario, the damage would simply be lost and not up for reassignment to either defenders or the capital. This is of course assuming your opponent had the necessary resources available to trigger the Rock Lobbers action. Once assigned, it can't be reassigned. Redirection is a whole other matter though…

2. Once assigned, damage cannot be mitigated by reducing hammers or damage dealt by attackers or defenders. So your opponent would have to do this before the Assign Damage step of combat. Boosting units with hit points or toughness would simply keep them alive longer (potentially), but not force you to reassign damage already assigned to your opponents capital. Damage cancellation effects trigger right before damage is applied.

3. Basically, yes. There are a number of Action windows spread around the phases of a turn, at which point Actions can be taken and played in response to other actions. Some actions require a certain trigger to occur before they can be taken, and can only be taken once per trigger. The capital phase is essentially one big action window, and is generally the only time when non-Tactic or card actions can be taken, such as playing units, supports or quests, as well as playing a development from your hand (which is limited to once per turn during your capital phase, normally). Note however that some cards circumvent this rule, as per the Golden Rule. See the F.A.Q (1.8 as of 20.9.2012) for an updated/clarified Turn Sequence Diagram.

4. Yes, sort of. Generally the active player is the one who has priority. Better check out the Detailed Timing sTructure in the F.A.Q.! :P

 

Hope this answered your questions, be sure to check out the F.A.Q. and the Rules Summary on deckbox.org, it will probably answer a lot of your questions!

 

Once again, welcome to the game!

Herzogar



#4 BigFest

BigFest

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:34 AM

 Absolutely fantastic guys, thanks very much!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS