Jump to content



Photo

Question on Net Shield


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 drake_hoard

drake_hoard

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 10:34 AM

Hi,

 

on the runnercard Net Shields is written: 1(credit): Prevent the first net damage this turn.

This was a bit unclear to us. What is Your opinion about the meanig? Does Net Shield prevents

a) the first POINT of net damage or

b) the whole first net damage, regardless of the amount

In the first games, we have decided to use option b)

Thanks in advance for Your answers

 

Michael



#2 PWBrian

PWBrian

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 11:00 AM

 I've been using it to block the first point of net damage, but I could see the card being read either way.



#3 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 11:14 AM

This has been clarified by Lukas - it's the first single point of Net Damage.



#4 kaffis

kaffis

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 09:02 AM

 The way to arrive at Lukas' ruling independently is to remember that cards are chosen one at a time. This is well recognized with multiple access runs like Medium/Maker's Eye or runs on Archives, but it also affects dealing multiple points of damage at a time.



#5 PWBrian

PWBrian

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 10:20 AM

kaffis said:

 The way to arrive at Lukas' ruling independently is to remember that cards are chosen one at a time. This is well recognized with multiple access runs like Medium/Maker's Eye or runs on Archives, but it also affects dealing multiple points of damage at a time.

How do you mean?  I'm not seeing how the rules regarding accessing cards one at a time would apply to the way damage is taken.



#6 wellist

wellist

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 11:04 AM

 and to piggy back on this topic, when does the Runner spend the Credit for the Net Shield ability? Before the action that incurred the Net Damage (i.e. a run) or afterwards (i.e. successfully stole an Agenda from Jintenki, spend the credit to cancel the Net Damage)?

thanks,

-s



#7 TBossAZ

TBossAZ

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 01:00 PM

 In my opinion…

Net Shield is a Program you install to have the ability to pay one credit to prevent the first point of net damage for that turn.  If I understand timing correctly, you pay the credit to reduce net damage by one point.

Anyone agree/disagree?



#8 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,333 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 07:24 PM

You use Net Shield's ability when the effect that deals you damage goes off (per the timing on prevent/avoid effects).



#9 Ironburn

Ironburn

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:47 AM

That is correct Khudzlin. From page 21:

Prevent or Avoid
Some card abilities use the words “prevent” or “avoid.” Prevent
or avoid effects are the only effects which can disrupt another
effect. A prevent or avoid effect states what it is preventing
or avoiding, and an effect that is prevented or avoided is not
resolved. Prevent or avoid effects can be triggered whenever the
effect they are preventing or avoiding is resolving.



#10 Cimmeria

Cimmeria

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:09 AM

Can I use Net Shield on the MegaCorp's turn? Like, it he/she uses Neural EMP on his/her turn?



#11 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:12 AM

Indeed you can!



#12 Cimmeria

Cimmeria

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

radiskull said:

Indeed you can!

Thanks for the clarification!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS