The board game as a role playing game.

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 shorty_monster

shorty_monster

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 11:23 PM

I was just wondering how many other people play this game from the point of view of the character, after reading the blurb on the back of the character card, and spend the time to get into the shoes of the character? It's something I do a lot, and not just with Arkham Horror, and I always fine myself enjoying the game more. i know I come from more of an RPG back ground, I was just wondering if it was just me…

#2 The Professor

The Professor

• Members
  • 1,347 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 12:01 PM

No, Shorty_Monster ~ I'm a 30+ year veteran of D&D (the Blue Box), AD&D, and currently run a campaign with a friend in Florida (thank goodness for fast internet, a webcam, and Fantasy Grounds).  Anyway, from the moment I first played this game I was hooked ~ not just because of the theme, but that you could really get into the character.  Believe me, though, when a friend described the game to me I thought I'd have to slap some sense into him…"what are you doing playing a Board Game…a Board Game?!?!"  But when I saw it displayed in its tentacally glory upon my brother's pool table…I fell in love with it. 

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

#3 Nun of your business

Nun of your business

• Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:49 AM

Yup! We even do voices! My friend Amy does the best Jenny Barnes evar!

Some of our in-game decisions, even, are not always made with the best tactical advantages in mind, but rather how we think a character might respond to a certain situation.

#4 jgt7771

jgt7771

Saving the world from cosmic evil since 2006

• Members
  • 1,410 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:03 AM