Torpedoes and Missiles not worth it?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Chaplin717

Chaplin717

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:52 PM

I know it's early, and as a newbie I don't want to cry foul yet, but it seems like the expendable ammunition choices are over priced.  They are descent, and can be nice, but for four points it seems like an R2 unit is much more optimal.  Also in a game where ships are universal in stats, all you are paying for in a higher point ship is usually a higher pilot score (and sometimes an ability).  This already seems to push the meta in the direction of buying as many (cheap) ships as possible and maybe bringing one elite pilot.  Also in such lists, I am not seeing much in the way of four point ammunition choices.

Maybe if missiles and torpedoes were 1 or 2 points, but at 4… it just seems like you will nearly always have a better way to spend those points.  Again, I am new, but after a weekend with the game and just starting to think about squadron builds, I just can't see any sane person taking a Y-Wing and putting two torpedoes on it.  Or a squadron of just pilots all sporting ammunition upgrades.  Am I missing something?  Are one shot ammuntion upgrades the goat cards of the set and only to be used for theme?

#2 drkjedi35

drkjedi35

• Members
  • 389 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:17 PM

Chaplin717 said: