Our plucky private eye, Joe Diamond, stepped into the Science building, hoping to find some nice double A batteries. Problem was, a few hours ago, it had become a shimmering gate to The Abyss, with a horrible, terrible, no good Chthonian lurking about the premises. He attacks the Chthonian, failing his Horror check (poor dear), and fails his combat check as well. The Chthonian punches him in the nose, and then Joe is sucked into the abyss.
Two turns later, Joe has returned from the abyss, with serious desires to inflict grevious bodily harm on his Chthonian friend. The question that came up amongst the investigators: Joe Diamond has faced this beast before; does he have to make a new new horror check against this squiggly faced aberation?
The rule book said:
"Whether he passes the [Horror] check or not, an invesigator only needs to make one Horror check each time he does battle with a monster."
Half of our investigators thought that since this was "new" battle, a new Horror check was called for. The others insisted this was the same battle, drawn out over two turns due to gate suckage. Thematically, I really liked the idea of this particular Chthonian being an enemy Joe was familiar with, and was willing to side with the kids who thought he shouldn't have to make a new Horror check, even though I didn't quite read the rules that way.
Anybody have any particular thoughts on this, or maybe I should just keep knitting and leave the monster hunting to the professionals?