Jump to content



Photo

Keeping Count


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Golden_Nightingale

Golden_Nightingale

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:04 AM

 I need to settle differing opinions on Keeping Count. A fellow player (really wants to) believe that the resources put onto Keeping Count can be spent to play cards or resolve treachery card effects. What do the experts say?

 



#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,816 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:02 AM

no it cannot - the resources are there to represent something, ie more kills, whereas the 'real' resources respresent for want of a better word, money.

same with chieftan ufthak- he gets a resource but obivously cannot spend either

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,215 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 03:13 PM

 Incidentally, how many people use this card?  I have not had it for long, but can't really imagine using it.

It is literally useless unless 2 copies are in play.  Once you are in play, its bonus essentially degrades as you use it (if you have +2 attack thanks to having 2 fewer kills than the "competitor," and then you kill an enemy, you're down to +1).  So you it is a +attack card that encourages you not to use this hero to attack.

The only thing I can think of is to put one copy on, say, Eowyn or Bilbo, who would never attack.  Then at the end of the game, when s/he is +10, release a massive strike!



#4 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:55 PM

I've tried to build decks with my friend to use this card in 2-player games; however, in the two games we tried, we can only draw one copy (out of two decks) each time.  So we do not have any success in using it, although there are some resource counters on it at the end of the quest.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,816 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 10:58 PM

ive tried several times to use it as i really like the idea of such a thematic card, however i think its always going to be one of the those 'collecting dust' cards that could have been a bit better thought through

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 Golden_Nightingale

Golden_Nightingale

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:16 PM

richsabre said:

no it cannot - the resources are there to represent something, ie more kills, whereas the 'real' resources respresent for want of a better word, money.

same with chieftan ufthak- he gets a resource but obivously cannot spend either

rich

That's what I thought. Thanks Rich.



#7 shipwreck

shipwreck

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:15 AM

 Maybe it'll get errata'd at some point and become more usable, because I also like the idea behind it.


The Grey Company; Master of Lore; & Frebooter Kommand are all things I work on.


#8 Bullroarer Took

Bullroarer Took

    Member

  • Members
  • 847 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 02:51 PM

 I haven't tried this yet as I've been playing The Hobbit lately with a dwarf deck, but my idea was to put 3 copies into my Elladan & Elrohir deck.  The first copy would go on Elledan who does a lot of killing and so the card would be building up resource tokens.  The next copy would then go on Elrohir late in the game when I wanted a big hit on a boss.  I would use Elledan in this attack too so the count difference would stay the same and Elrohir would keep his big bonus.

It's the only way I can think of getting use out of the card.


Nearly all of my comments are from the perspective of the single handed solo player.

#9 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

    Member

  • Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:49 PM

You can keep count of the number of times you give this card the stink eye as you're flipping through tactics cards to build another eagles deck.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS