Jump to content



Photo

Masquerade Ball encounter 1 Hero Win with zero guests rescued?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Bobus X

Bobus X

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 12:03 PM

So I just finished encounter one of Masquerade Ball.  The heroes did not rescue any of the Noble Guests.  At the end of the encounter, they rolled a grey die (for 3 heroes), and got a blank on the die.  Am I correct that this means they win, despite not rescuing anyone?



#2 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 06:04 PM

Bobus X said:

So I just finished encounter one of Masquerade Ball.  The heroes did not rescue any of the Noble Guests.  At the end of the encounter, they rolled a grey die (for 3 heroes), and got a blank on the die.  Am I correct that this means they win, despite not rescuing anyone?

"The heroes roll a die to determine whether Lord Theodir is among the guests they rescued…"

If no guest were rescued, why would the die even be rolled? 

It makes no sense that he could be rescued if no one was even rescued. 

 

 



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:55 PM

Rules don't say you only roll if the heroes rescued at least one guest, only that you roll after the encounter ends.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 Schmiegel

Schmiegel

    Member

  • Members
  • 279 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 08:32 PM

 Talk about rules lawyering until the cows come home.. I think the intent is pretty clear. If no guests were rescued, how could Lord Theodir be among "the rescued"..? Do the math.



#5 skolo

skolo

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:23 PM

he? reading and understanding? hellooo?

 

Victory

If all monsterd are defeated (or when the last guest leaves the map for any reason) the encounter ends.

Any guests remaining on the map are considered to be rescued by the heroes.

The heroes roll a die to determine wheter Lord Theodir is among the guests they have rescued

 

than they need to roll a die (grey 2/3 players, black 4 players) and need to roll equal or less than number of heroes rescued

 

 

 



#6 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 02:32 AM

 Were all tokens revealed? 

Were the monsters all defeated?

What actually ended the encounter?

IF all monsters were defeated, yet not all the guest made it out, but some of the cultists tokens were never revealed, then I think the it would be fair to assume that Lord Theodir would be rescued. 

IF the noble guests were killed or moved off the map by monsters AND all cultists were revealed then I fail to see how you could make the case that HE was rescued if no one was rescued. 

"If the number of shields rolled is equal to or less than the guests successfully rescued…"

IF all cultists were revealed, and all guest were NOT rescued how can you roll a die and compare it to a number that doesn't exist?

 

 



#7 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 02:35 AM

Schmiegel said:

 Talk about rules lawyering until the cows come home.. I think the intent is pretty clear. If no guests were rescued, how could Lord Theodir be among "the rescued"..? Do the math.

IMO, playing RAW isn't rules lawyering, it's when people start thinking/ruling based on what they think the rules are meant to say and start twisting them to their advantage, that's lawyering. Rules say you have to roll equal or less, is rolling the grey die and getting a 0 equal to or less than 0? Could MB be FAQ'd to say you only roll if at least one guest was rescued? Sure, but currently 0 rescued, heroes win on a roll of 0.

Also, even the OL's forces don't know which of the guests is Theodir. Are you saying he might not have gotten out in the confusion? I mean, in a 3-hero game, you have 6 guests, but surely there are more actual people in the ball than that. Who's to say Theodir didn't make it out amidst the throng of less important (as in, not worthy of having a token for them) guests?


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#8 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 02:43 AM

 

"If the number of shields rolled is equal to or less than the guests successfully rescued…"

IF all cultists were revealed, and all guest were NOT rescued how can you roll a die and compare it to a number that doesn't exist?

 

 

I will amend this statement….technically 0 is a number, so I guess by a strict interpretation you roll 0 and compare it to 0, the number of guests you successfully rescued….so by that rule I guess you do rescue him…….but still seems pretty lame 



#9 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:47 AM

skolo said:

than they need to roll a die (grey 2/3 players, black 4 players) and need to roll equal or less than number of heroes rescued 

Since guests are the ones rescued, there are always zero heroes rescued.  If you are playing against Skolo, only rolling a blank face is a win. 



#10 skolo

skolo

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:12 AM

ja ja. . guests of course  



#11 Sausageman

Sausageman

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:32 AM

Wow, surely this is pretty obvious no? Zero guests rescued, ZERO chance of one of them being the guy you need - despite what the dice says.

Play it how you want, consider that RAW state a blank rolled is equal to the number rescued.  But I do not.  Not even close.



#12 Wrapped

Wrapped

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:00 AM

Sausageman said:

Wow, surely this is pretty obvious no? Zero guests rescued, ZERO chance of one of them being the guy you need - despite what the dice says.

Play it how you want, consider that RAW state a blank rolled is equal to the number rescued.  But I do not.  Not even close.

 

Why not see the quests as symbols for the actual amount of guests rescued on a scale starting from 0 guests rescued = very few survived and  6 quests rescued = a whole lot of them.



#13 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:39 AM

It is equally possible in a 2-hero game (2 quests) to rescue ALL the quests and lose (since you can roll a 3 on the grey die).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#14 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:47 AM

I would personally lean towards what Dam said i.e. that in this case he 'rescued' himself, particularly that I come from RPG background and mixing some of it into this type of a boardgame is not only fun but also a must in order to interpret some of the rules and most importantly to enjoy the game more.

Anyway it happen to me that I got blocked too often by my Overlord (OL) plus the OL discovered both guests I got the cultists, also having goblins in this board is big advantage for OL as they move like lighting and you are only playing two heroes. 

Though I won by the die roll of 0 (blank side of grey die) of 0 guests rescued the encounter finished in 2 turns. It was weird experience particularly that I didn't enjoy it at all as no matter the result I barely did anything in this encounter. Thus, the only thing I must say this encounter suxs big time, though the idea is very intriguing and could be lots of fun if either the board is larger or the Overlord plays more like a game master so heroes will have time to enjoy it :)

The 2nd part was lots of fun though, but I must say only because I 'won' the 1st encounter (as I said I didn't feel like I won it in any way) and this way the rule was in place that the OL's Lady had to test her's knowledge in order to pass through doors. Otherwise if this rule is not in place heroes can straight away move to the next quest as they simply have no way of stopping her.

After all I lost the quest but it could have been different if only I had not missed the Lady with my axe :)

Great quest though the first part should be IMHO re-designed in order to give more fun, particularly that from it depends the outcome of the whole quest.

All the Best, AnChorr

 



#15 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:44 AM

 Since the Arabs introduced the zero in maths, zero has a meaning.

A zero die result is a result - unless one wants to regress to the latin number system.

Of course, the logics are wanting when one asks who is Theodir among the zero guests he saved. About as much as, when having saved the two only guests, be realizes that Theo is the third one - as the die roll may indicate.

Now, one could house rule a random designation of Theo among all guests (including those that the OL's minions kidnapped).

Of course, there also the extreme situation where all guests have been killed, because each rescuing hero was ko'ed while guiding his guest towards the exit…

I personally prefer to stick to the RAW, even if it leads to some strange effects.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS