Jump to content



Photo

Blood Boil Biomancy [Tome of Fate]


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Gregorius21778

Gregorius21778

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,802 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:18 AM

Hi guys,

I got myself a PDF copy of "Tome of Fate" for the Biomancy Powers in it. All in all, I like a lot of them quiet better then the initial versions we are still to use in DH *sigh*.

Anyway, a power I STILL cannot get my head around is "Blood Boil". While I see the use of inflicting fatigue onto an enemy from afar (especially on a well armoured enemy) I cannot get myself to the use of the "lethal damage after twice TB" paragraph. .

As the Fatigue reaches TB, the enemy will pass out a couple of minutes. (10-TB). If the Psyker would enflict the same amount of Fatigue AGAIN, he could start do deal damage…. but why should he?

If no other opponents are their to protect the now-passed-out-target, the PC are likely to simply walk over and finish the poor wretch of (3 minutes should be enough for this).

If there ARE further opponents, the Psyker would be wise to deal with them as well.

In all fairness, it was the same with the DH power of the same name and I was suprised to see that this point is still more or less the same.
Is their something that I miss entirely? Thanks!



#2 ShadowRay

ShadowRay

    Member

  • Members
  • 218 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:47 AM

It is optional and I for one like it. It can be used quite effectively outside of combat for intimidation, ransom or when you lack firepower to finish enemy off by normal means (those problematic termi armours). Also you can sustain it from behind cover as long as target is in range.



#3 Gregorius21778

Gregorius21778

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,802 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 05:47 AM

ShadowRay said:

 

It is optional and I for one like it. It can be used quite effectively outside of combat for intimidation, ransom or when you lack firepower to finish enemy off by normal means (those problematic termi armours). Also you can sustain it from behind cover as long as target is in range.

 

 

Hi Shadow. For sure it is nice in intimidation…but the point I was talking about (damage after passing out) is no good in that regard…unless make somebody watch another guy you handle that way ;).

Even if you have an enemy in terminator armour I guess you should be able to close in and take off his helmet within 3 minutes as he lies their, passed out (TB = Fatigue).

You see, I get the use of the power per se but I do not see why I should make use of "bloody overkill" (gory damage that kicks in after I deal the same amount of fatigue I already dealt him for passing out) when putting a bolter round into the head of somebody who blacked-out is quicker and as effective.

But perhaps it is meant as quick means to deal with low-TB foes? Getting Four levels of Fatigue aganist a TB 2 opponent could be quick…hm…perhaps that was the intention…

EDIT: Blood Boil DOES need a line of sight as it is not stated otherwise (see BC, p.20)



#4 Musclewizard

Musclewizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 320 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 07:58 AM

Gregorius21778 said:

 

Hi guys,

I got myself a PDF copy of "Tome of Fate" for the Biomancy Powers in it. All in all, I like a lot of them quiet better then the initial versions we are still to use in DH *sigh*.

Anyway, a power I STILL cannot get my head around is "Blood Boil". While I see the use of inflicting fatigue onto an enemy from afar (especially on a well armoured enemy) I cannot get myself to the use of the "lethal damage after twice TB" paragraph. .

As the Fatigue reaches TB, the enemy will pass out a couple of minutes. (10-TB). If the Psyker would enflict the same amount of Fatigue AGAIN, he could start do deal damage…. but why should he?

If no other opponents are their to protect the now-passed-out-target, the PC are likely to simply walk over and finish the poor wretch of (3 minutes should be enough for this).

If there ARE further opponents, the Psyker would be wise to deal with them as well.

In all fairness, it was the same with the DH power of the same name and I was suprised to see that this point is still more or less the same.
Is their something that I miss entirely? Thanks!

 

 

The enemy could use Stim, some other combat drug or maybe a talent / trait / psychic power (maybe like once he gets close to passing out) to avoid passing out from levels of fatigue but with Blood Boil he'd still take lethal damage at that point.



#5 Gregorius21778

Gregorius21778

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,802 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:55 AM

Stim! I always forget about these. And the fact that you could use it with an injection system. Thank you, Muscle Wizard






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS