Jump to content



Photo

Wait…. Snare?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 02:54 PM

 Playing today as Jinteki, runner hit my RnD and revealed a Snare asset. It did three damage to him (I had the funds to pay its trigger)… YIKES!

 

So runners really need to hold on to some cards to avoid being flatlined when on the offense… AND need to have creds for the subroutine breaking… sounds kinda maddening!

We play that right?



#2 reebo

reebo

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:31 PM

 That's the risk you [puts sunglasses on]…run.

 

YEAH!!!!



#3 Anarchosyn

Anarchosyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:34 PM

vermillian said:

 Playing today as Jinteki, runner hit my RnD and revealed a Snare asset. It did three damage to him (I had the funds to pay its trigger)… YIKES!

 

So runners really need to hold on to some cards to avoid being flatlined when on the offense… AND need to have creds for the subroutine breaking… sounds kinda maddening!

We play that right?

 

Check out Project Junebug. 

 

::cue evil laughter::

 

*Ahem* .. and yes, you played that right. Remember, however, that it's at -1 cards, not zero, that the Runner dies. The Runner can have zero cards in their hand and still be alive. 



#4 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:31 PM

 Project Junebug is such a nasty nasty card! It almost feels like your cheating those scruffy runners…almost.



#5 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:34 PM

 This is why it is best that a runner leaves one click available til after a run. The rules say that if the runner's hand is less than zero at the end of his turn, he is flatlined. But, if a runner keeps a click available for a run, if he is damaged, he can then spend the click to draw a card so that he is no longer at less than zero. At least I'm pretty sure this would work.



#6 Zoso

Zoso

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 07:17 PM

 End of the turn refers to maximum hand size, which gets reduced by 1 for every point of brain damage you take. So if you take enough brain damage where your max hand size is less than zero at the end of your turn, you lose. If at ANY time you are forced to discard and have no cards to do so, you are flatlined and the corp wins immediately.  No chance to spend a click for draw.



#7 byronczimmer

byronczimmer

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:47 AM

Doc9 said:

 This is why it is best that a runner leaves one click available til after a run. The rules say that if the runner's hand is less than zero at the end of his turn, he is flatlined. But, if a runner keeps a click available for a run, if he is damaged, he can then spend the click to draw a card so that he is no longer at less than zero. At least I'm pretty sure this would work.

The actual rules quote:

 

If the Runner takes more damage than the number of cards in
his grip, or if he has a maximum hand size of less than zero at
the end of his turn, then he is flatlined and the Corporation
wins the game.

 

Two distinct clauses.

If the Runner needs to discard and cannot, the Runner loses.

If the Runner has a hand size lower than zero at end of turn the Runner cannot maintain '0' cards in hand and loses.

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS