Jump to content



Photo

Cell Portal


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Diddimus

Diddimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 September 2012 - 07:58 PM

I think I know the answer to this but I want to clarify.  When Cell Portal takes you back to the first ICE, do you then have to encounter all the ICE again?

I would say not due to the rule "The runner approaches the outer most ICE that has not already been approached this run".  

However does Cell Portal override this and effectively start the run again?

Cheers.



#2 Anarchosyn

Anarchosyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 08 September 2012 - 10:32 PM

 Yes, you restart the run.

 

Cell Portal causes you to re-encounter the outermost piece of ice, then it deactivates. Once inactive, it has no ability to warp you past any intervening ice.



#3 TheRealLeo

TheRealLeo

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 08 September 2012 - 10:34 PM

Diddimus said:

 

I think I know the answer to this but I want to clarify.  When Cell Portal takes you back to the first ICE, do you then have to encounter all the ICE again?

I would say not due to the rule "The runner approaches the outer most ICE that has not already been approached this run".  

However does Cell Portal override this and effectively start the run again?

Cheers.

 

 

There is no such rule in the rulebook. The exact quote from the rulebook is:

"A Runner approaches each piece of ice protecting the server one at a time, starting with the outermost piece. The Runner must PASS each piece of ice in order to approach the next piece of ice protecting the server, continuing until all pieces of ice have been passed or until the run ends."

There is nothing about ignoring ice that has already been "approached".



#4 Diddimus

Diddimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:19 AM

There is no such rule in the rulebook.

*Not sure why the quote isn't working! 

 

Yes there is.  See the run diagram, point 2.

 

However since posting this I reread Cell Portal and realised that it's very high cost due to the derez, so I presumed it does restart the run.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#5 TheRealLeo

TheRealLeo

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 04:21 PM

The run diagram has been shown to conflict with the actual printed rules in the main part of the book. In fact, the quote I made of the rulebook should be a clear example of this. Nowhere does it say anything about approaching ice that has not already been approached. It instead refers to following a sequential order, nothing more. As such, I wouldn't recommend using the run diagram for anything other than a visualization for when you can use triggered abilities/rez cards.

 



#6 Anarchosyn

Anarchosyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:23 PM

TheRealLeo said:

The run diagram has been shown to conflict with the actual printed rules in the main part of the book. In fact, the quote I made of the rulebook should be a clear example of this. Nowhere does it say anything about approaching ice that has not already been approached. It instead refers to following a sequential order, nothing more. As such, I wouldn't recommend using the run diagram for anything other than a visualization for when you can use triggered abilities/rez cards.

 

 

The ONLY reason it uses the added verbiage in the run diagram is because, due to the nature of how the diagram is written, it had to take into account loops. At various points, it says stuff like "If.. then go to X", so it's shorthand for "continuing from where we left off." 



#7 TheRealLeo

TheRealLeo

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:54 PM

Anarchosyn said:

TheRealLeo said:

 

The run diagram has been shown to conflict with the actual printed rules in the main part of the book. In fact, the quote I made of the rulebook should be a clear example of this. Nowhere does it say anything about approaching ice that has not already been approached. It instead refers to following a sequential order, nothing more. As such, I wouldn't recommend using the run diagram for anything other than a visualization for when you can use triggered abilities/rez cards.

 

 

 

 

The ONLY reason it uses the added verbiage in the run diagram is because, due to the nature of how the diagram is written, it had to take into account loops. At various points, it says stuff like "If.. then go to X", so it's shorthand for "continuing from where we left off." 

There is no "need" for the extra portion, as the main portion of the rules describes the linear progression of a run in an easily understandable way that everyone (thus far) has been able to grasp. It makes sense, and needs no further modifications. The reason for the conflict is most likely that they were written at separate times and/or by separate individuals, and the designers (or whoever is in charge of rules and rulings) didn't reread everything to check for holes or conflicts.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS