Jump to content



Photo

Word of Pain/Knocked down hero


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:36 PM

If the overlord knocks down a hero, during his turn, then decided to play Word of Pain, which reads: Play this card at the end of your turn. Each hero tests might. Each hero who fails suffers 1 heart.

1.Is the downed hero subjected to this effect?

2.Does he still make an attribute roll even though he is knocked out?

3.If he fails would he suffer the damage when he stands up?

It says on pg 15, that monster attacks cannot target or affect knocked out heroes

But it doesn't specifically say OL cards cannot target or affect knocked out heroes.

I don't think that it is too far a stretch to assume that the card wouldn't affect a knocked out hero, seeing that monsters are controlled by the OL, but this came up and we decided to let the OL play it on downed heroes. 

I feel the answer to 1 and 2 would be NO, but I would like to see what the consensus is.

Thanks 



#2 Steenhp147

Steenhp147

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:01 PM

mustardayonnaiz said:

If the overlord knocks down a hero, during his turn, then decided to play Word of Pain, which reads: Play this card at the end of your turn. Each hero tests might. Each hero who fails suffers 1 heart.

1.Is the downed hero subjected to this effect?

2.Does he still make an attribute roll even though he is knocked out?

3.If he fails would he suffer the damage when he stands up?

It says on pg 15, that monster attacks cannot target or affect knocked out heroes

But it doesn't specifically say OL cards cannot target or affect knocked out heroes.

I don't think that it is too far a stretch to assume that the card wouldn't affect a knocked out hero, seeing that monsters are controlled by the OL, but this came up and we decided to let the OL play it on downed heroes. 

I feel the answer to 1 and 2 would be NO, but I would like to see what the consensus is.

Thanks 

 

Page 15:

"Heroes cannot suffer fatigue past their Stamina value, nor damage past their Health value - even when knocked out. A knocked out hero cannot receive any Condition cards and is immune to all attacks and most hero abilities. "

It does not mention monster attacks but attacks in general, so I would say the hero is immune to OL cards. But even if it did work at the hero, it would have no effect according to page 15, since the hero is already at max. damage and stamina and cannot suffer anýmore.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS