Total Noob Here

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Torax Outlaw

Torax Outlaw

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 12:31 PM

I'm a total noob to the whole pencil and paper RPG series. I own the Deathwatch Core Rulebook and I'm so confused by it all.

#2 herichimo

herichimo

• Members
  • 870 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 02:48 PM

Was there a question here, or are you just saying 'hi'?

#3 AlphariusOmegon7

AlphariusOmegon7

• Members
  • 185 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:19 AM

Read the intro to RPs thing at the start.  It helps.  

Think of the stats as like stats in a computer RPG - they determine how good you are at certain things.  Skills are then modifiers of that - being good at specific bits rather than a general aptitude.  Talents are one off abilities - like perks in Skyrim.  

#4 Torax Outlaw

Torax Outlaw

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:11 AM

I understand some of it. Its just the whole movements things confuses the feth outta me. Like whats the feth does AB mean?

#5 KommissarK

KommissarK

• Members
  • 1,499 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:56 AM

Agility Bonus.

There should be a section that describes "Characteristic Bonuses."

Basically, a characteristic is a value, 1-99. This is the exact target number for tests that you roll.

However, to simplify this in certain areas, the "characteristic bonus" is used (things like movement, damage resistance due to toughness, etc.).

The bonus is simply the 10s digit of the characteristic. So a marine with an agility score of 42 would have an Agility Bonus (AB), of 4.

Strength - SB

Toughness - TB

Agility - AB

Perception - PB ? (tend not to see this one used much)

Intelligence - IB

Willpower - WB

Fellowship - FB

Ballistic Skill and Weapon Skill do not have a "bonus" in Deathwatch (although they do in Black Crusade/Only War).