Jump to content



Photo

x2 bank job


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 hollis

hollis

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:43 AM

I had this situation come up in a game earlier.

Can you get credits from two bank jobs off a single run? It reads:

Place 8 [Credits] from the bank on Bank Job when it is installed. When there are no credits left on Bank Job, trash it.
Whenever you make a successful run on a remote server, instead of accessing cards you may take any number of credits from Bank Job.

 

I said no; once you take credits off the first bank job you are no longer accessing cards, and thus cannot fulfill the requirements of the second bank job.

My opponent said yes; the "access cards" portion of bank job is an effect, not a cost.

 

Clarification would be nice!



#2 ffaristocrat

ffaristocrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:57 AM

 I'm inclined to agree with your interpretation (only one Bank Job can be used) but this is clearly something that could use a ruling to clarify. Have you submitted it to FFG for a ruling?



#3 hollis

hollis

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 06:09 AM

Nope, I have no clue where I would do so



#4 Tokhuah

Tokhuah

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 06:15 AM

Look at the very bottom of the webpage under the copyright info.  There is a link for Rules Questions.  It would be nice to post the answer here when you get it!



#5 Tsarcastic

Tsarcastic

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:04 AM

 You can not. There are two key points. The phrase "instead of" and that the words "Bank Job" are self referential, so each card would technically read:

"Place 8 [Credits] from the bank on this card when it is installed. When there are no credits on this card, trash it. Whenever you make a successful run on a remote server, instead of accessing cards you may take any number of credits from this card."

Thus when you make a successful run on a remote server, you have three options: 1) Complete the run on the remote server (accessing cards), 2) Use the text of Bank Job #1, 3) Use the text on Bank Job #2. Once you decide to do one of those things you no longer have the option of using an "instead" option.  

Hope this clears things up!



#6 hollis

hollis

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:27 AM

Tsarcastic said:

Once you decide to do one of those things you no longer have the option of using an "instead" option.

Is this clearly stated in the rulebook anywhere? If so, I cannot find it.



#7 Tsarcastic

Tsarcastic

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:44 AM

 No, it's just the meaning of "instead of." Otherwise you would be able to access the cards on a remote server and use Bank Job with the same successful run. Which I don't believe anyone is disputing that you're capable of doing. Just think of each Bank Job as its own card that happens to have the exact same text, rather than two copies of the same card.

If they wanted you to be able to access both of them the wording would be more along the lines of "Whenever you make a successful run a remote server, instead of accessing cards you may remove any number of credits from any number of Bank Jobs."



#8 hollis

hollis

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 06:40 AM

Geoff,

Thanks for the question. You cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When the run is successful, you may either access cards or use a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing cards, so once you trigger one of them the other is no longer able to trigger its replacement effect.

Hope that helps,

--
Lukas Litzsinger
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games



#9 sydwys8

sydwys8

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 01:33 PM

hollis said:

Geoff,

Thanks for the question. You cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When the run is successful, you may either access cards or use a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing cards, so once you trigger one of them the other is no longer able to trigger its replacement effect.

Hope that helps,

--
Lukas Litzsinger
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

Thanks for clearing that up hollis. Sorry about using the card wrong in our game.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS