Jump to content



Photo

Nemesis Tree and the Ki Tree


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nochtal

Nochtal

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:18 PM

I'm currently playing a Tao focusing on the Nemesis abilities, and hoping to avoid purchasing any of the Ki abilities, as it doesn't fit his background or story line as of yet.

He has come across what is needed in the game to start developing Magic Cancellation from the Nemesis tree. The only requirement for purchasing the ability is Use of Nemesis.

It costs 2 ki per round to maintain the Magic Cancellation, thus, do I need to purchase Use of Ki, and possibly Ki Control in order to perform this ability?

I did a few searches trying to find anything on this in the forums, but found nothing, so sorry if this is a repeat question. 



#2 Nochtal

Nochtal

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:28 PM

 FOUND IT! LOL! I'm a derp sometimes.

Only took like the fourth time looking through it to find it.

As with Ki Abilities, characters can develop special Nemesis Abilities. In game terms, they work in a similar way to Ki Abilities; they have a Martial Knowledge point cost that is necessary to pay to master each one of them. However, mere access to Nemesis Abilities does not allow one to develop Techniques and Ki Control remains necessary.  Naturally, nothing prevents a character to try to master in parallel Ki and Nemesis Abilities.



#3 F3nr1s

F3nr1s

    Member

  • Members
  • 159 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 08:53 PM

 I think, this sentence tries to state something different. IMO it tries to say, that you need Ki Control for Ki techniques and that Nemesis isn't enough for this.

But I know the problem: Someone can usually only accumulate Ki, if he has Ki control, but some Nemesis powers need Ki. My group have a houserule, which says that you can accumulate for nemesis powers if you have "Use of Nemesis", but only for this.

So long,



#4 Nochtal

Nochtal

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 10:38 PM

 Hmmm, I get what you mean. I'll propose that idea to the GM. Thank you!



#5 tasuret

tasuret

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 03:22 PM

 Slow down, cowboy! Nemesis powers automatically draw on Ki points. There's no need to accumulate. Nemesis uses accumulations only for the Cancel abilities, to calculate how much of a certain field they cancel.



#6 Nochtal

Nochtal

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 06:16 PM

 *nods and slows down* ah, so very wise!

Rereading through it, I see that. In the powers, it explains it. 

Thank you Tasuret.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS