Jump to content



Photo

Lava spaces


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Overlord999

Overlord999

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:27 PM

 i quote Butaman551 from another thread.

 

A figure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage. Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated."

So if the OL, on his turn, uses Dark Charm, an Ettin's Throw or whatever to force a hero to move into a Lava space, would the hero be defeated at the end of the OL's turn? The rules state this only happens at the end of the figures turn. As silly as it sounds, it seems like the only way a hero can be defeated by the OL moving them into Lava would be if the hero chooses not to move on his next turn.

Any opinions?



#2 uppTagg

uppTagg

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:47 PM

Throw the hero in lava (or play trip cards/stun cards/web cards when he/she moves through) and immobilize him/her. Unless the hero can get rid of the immobilize condition and move out at the end of his/her turn, he/she is defeated. Rules are pretty clear in my eyes at least :o



#3 jjcole

jjcole

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 02:03 AM

Overlord999 said:

 

A figure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage. Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated."

 

 

Assuming that's the official text, it says ends "its" turn (the hero's own turn). I would also say if a hero used a feat that let another hero move, since it's not that hero's own turn, they could move into lava, take the damage, and not be defeated as long as they moved out of the lava by the end of their next turn.



#4 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:14 AM

The way I read it, the hero would take 1 damage for "entering a space containing lava", but would not be defeated until the end of the hero's turn. Although turns are taken serially for playability, a round represents simultaneous events by multiple actors. The hero gets a chance to move clear of danger before succumbing.

I'm assuming that a lava space does not represent a deep pool of lava, otherwise the figure would be defeated in short order. More likely it represents something like fissured ground with lava below the surface -- extremely hot with occasional eruptions of scalding gases, choking fumes, and spatters of molten rock.

[Deja vu, all over again!]






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS