Jump to content



Photo

Weird Rules Quibble: Replacing Consoles


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Anarchosyn

Anarchosyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 02:38 PM

 Per the rules written, you can't do it. After you install one type of console, it's impossible to install a better type later in the game. 

When a developer was told about this (Lukas) he didn't immediately dismiss the rules "oversight," but rather said it's something they have to think about. Note: this would be a change from the original Netrunner,

 

So, heads up on this. 

 p.s. Yes, 99% of me is confident that FFG will rule this an oversight and maintain consistency with original Netrunner on this. However, I found it very interesting that Lukas didn't just say, "oh yeah, our bad, it's *obviously* intended to operate like the original," but had a more "wait and see what the council determines" approach. This at least means that if your players give you crap on this issue, they have a leg to stand on. 

 

Though, technically, the game prohibits rezzing any card or using paid abilities when approaching already rezzed ice as well (timing diagram, page 33), yet this seems to have been readily admitted as an oversight, 



#2 AussieKSU

AussieKSU

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:30 PM

Anarchosyn said:

game prohibits rezzing any card or using paid abilities when approaching already rezzed ice as well (timing diagram, page 33), yet this seems to have been readily admitted as an oversight, 

It seems you can still use paid abilities, but not rez. Anyway, this seems, as you've stated, an oversight, as upgrades should imo, certainly be rezzable in this case.



#3 Anarchosyn

Anarchosyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:00 PM

AussieKSU said:

Anarchosyn said:

 

game prohibits rezzing any card or using paid abilities when approaching already rezzed ice as well (timing diagram, page 33), yet this seems to have been readily admitted as an oversight, 

 

 

It seems you can still use paid abilities, but not rez. Anyway, this seems, as you've stated, an oversight, as upgrades should imo, certainly be rezzable in this case.

 

True, slip of the proverbial tongue. 

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS