Jump to content



Photo

Removing conditions off of immune targets?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 psyduck

psyduck

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 07:54 AM

A situation came up with these cards:

Quaithe of the Shadow + Blood of the Dragon attached, and Maester Cressen.

Is it possible for the Maester to remove the condition, or is it impossible to remove since Quaithe becomes immune to character abilities?



#2 Old Ben

Old Ben

    Member

  • Members
  • 612 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 10:43 AM

Well,  the Qaithe of the shadows immunity to charachter abilities won´t protect the attachment from Maester Cressen´s ability.

So Maester Cressen can legally discard the attachment blood of the dragon. 

 



#3 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,568 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 11:57 AM

 Some points of clarification on this.

Note that Quaithe's ability makes it so that opponents cannot choose her as the target of events or character abilities while she has an attachment. That is not the same thing as immunity, which is a separate game term. An event or character ability that affects her without choosing her as a target (like, say, Westeros Bleeds) can still "do stuff" to her. If she were immune, she'd ignore everything, target or no. (That particular point doesn't factor into the specific example of Cressen going after the attachment, but it is an important distinction for the scope of her ability in general.)

Also note that since her ability only stops herself from being chosen as a target, it doesn't extend to cards attached to her or other characters around her (say, if she were participating in a challenge with Khal Drogo). So the key here is to look at WHAT the event or ability (in this case Cressen) is choosing. Since he specifically chooses (then discards) the attachment, you do not run afoul of Quaithe's ability. She is only protected from things that specifically choose characters.



#4 psyduck

psyduck

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 12:44 PM

thanks for the replies!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS