Jump to content



Photo

Difference between Jumping The Fleet and Jumping During Combat


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mrrruczit

mrrruczit

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 09:13 PM

Hello!

 

I don't know if I get the difference between Jumping The Fleet and Jumping During Combat right. So if I'm JTF, I remove all ships (Vipers, Cylons ships, civilian), choose destination (and check Kobol) and move the fleet token to Reset Jump Preparation Track, but if I'm JDC I only remove all the ships (Vipers, Cylons ships, civilian) and do not choose destination card, so it's just for running from the Cylons?

 

Jumping the Fleet
In Battlestar Galactica, moving ships at faster-than-light
(FTL) speed is referred to as “jumping.” Whenever the fleet
jumps, the Admiral draws Destination Cards to determine
where the fleet jumps to. To choose the destination, the
Admiral performs the following steps:
1. Remove all ships from the game board Remove Ships:
(see “Jumping During Combat” on page 25).
2. The Admiral draws two cards from Choose Destination:
the Destination deck, chooses one, and places the other
on the bottom of the deck.
3. The Admiral places the chosen card Follow Instructions:
faceup next to the Kobol Objective Card and follows any
instructions on the Destination Card.
4. If the previous step causes the total Kobol Instructions:
distance on Destination Cards placed adjacent to the
Kobol Objective Card to equal or exceed four or eight for
the first time, then follow the instructions on the Kobol
Objective Card (see page 14).
5. Move the fleet token to Reset Jump Preparation Track:
the start space of the Jump Preparation track.

-----------

When the fleet jumps during combat, all ships are removed
from the space areas of the game board. Any vipers so
removed are returned to the “Reserves,” and any civilian ships
so removed are shuffled back into the pile of unused civilian
ships. Any character who was piloting a viper is moved to the
“Hangar Deck” location.
Any centurion tokens on the Boarding Party track remain in
play when the fleet jumps.



#2 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 154 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 07:22 AM

I think I see the confusion.  

There are not two kinds of "jumping"… it's "when you jump, if there are ships out, here is what you do with them."

You always follows those steps "whenever the flee jumps."   The descriptive part from page 25 "jumping during combat" is a detail explanation of step 1, not a substitution.  For example, it makes it clear that vipers go back in reserved, not damaged/destroyed/offboard…  characters go to Hanger, no sickback or place of their choosing, etc.  

Hope that makes sense!



#3 ninjamatic3000

ninjamatic3000

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 08:08 AM

There is no difference… "Jumping During Combat" just gives you extra steps to follow in the event there are ships on the board when you jump. Either way, you always draw destination cards when you jump. Hope that helps!

Edit - Exception: After you reach your Objective (ie - Kobol) you don't draw destination cards for your final jump. That's the only time.



#4 mrrruczit

mrrruczit

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 11:56 PM

I totally forgot to thank you for the answer - thank you! :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS