Jump to content



Photo

ICE and Remote Servers


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Wolverine-X

Wolverine-X

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 02:23 PM

 Looking for clarification. 

When you build your remote servers do you have to create ICE for each card (remote server) or does one ICE protect all cards (remote servers)?  The picture of the setup seems to indicate each remote server must be protected separately, but the image (example) on page 17 seems to indicate otherwise. 



#2 TheRealLeo

TheRealLeo

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 02:41 PM

Each server must be protected on an individual level, if you actually have a desire to protect what you put in them. Also, remember that more than one card can be installed in a server at a time. Agendas and assets obviously are limited, but you can have any number of upgrades installed as well, except regions. That may be what is confusing you about the diagram. The image is actually showing a single remote server with an asset and an upgrade installed.



#3 AussieKSU

AussieKSU

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 02:45 PM

First of all, you do not need to install ANY ice on a remote server, but it is typically recommended.

 

Now, to get down to your question, each remote server has its own ice that protects it. Just like each of your main servers has its own individual ice that protects them (hand, deck and trash). This means at the beginning of the game, you have 3 separate areas that are vulnerable to attack, and you need 3 separate pieces of ice to protect all of them. Typically, hand and deck (or HQ and R&D) are the areas of primiary concern, and archives sometimes gets some attention later on in the game.

The fact that remote servers each need their individual ice makes it a bit of a challenge to create that one gnarly remote server that gets a ton of your ice, or to spread out your ice and create several remote servers.



#4 Wolverine-X

Wolverine-X

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 03:03 PM

Great…thanks for the clarifications! 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS