Jump to content



Photo

Tourney championship. I think I saw a mistake with Cluster Missle upgrade or need rules clarify…


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 VaultDweller

VaultDweller

    Member

  • Members
  • 126 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:39 PM

 Started watching the full video of the GenCon tourney. On the Imperial players first attack with Vader he declared a secondary weapon attack with cluster missile and removed the target lock to make the attack. He rolled once, counted hits, and the rebel player took his next attack. Cluster missile says use target lock, discard the card, and attack TWICE. The rules say the text on the card in parantheses is required so that implies he needed to discard the card and possibly forgot the second attack.  

Am I understanding this correctly that upgrade cards that say discard are all one shot deals and the imperial player in this case just missed his second attack or is their some rule I'm missing?

Very cool video and please know this is not a rip on the players but I'm just asking for a clarification. 

 



#2 VaultDweller

VaultDweller

    Member

  • Members
  • 126 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:50 PM

 And I got a little farther into the video and the X-Wing that was targeted by the cluster missile attack once ended up taking Vader out when it was his turn to attack.  The potentially missed second attack may have cost Vader his life and may have impacted the game very early on. 

 



#3 R5Don4

R5Don4

    Member

  • Members
  • 398 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 02:20 PM

 Yeah, I noticed that too.  Noobs LOL.


Great forum http://www.afewmaneuvers.com/index

Looking for a game in the Greater Toronto Area?  We can hook you up https://www.facebook.com/groups/swgon/ Star Wars Gaming Ontario formerly known as Star Wars Miniatures Toronto


#4 Inksplat

Inksplat

    Member

  • Members
  • 331 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 04:42 PM

 Yeah, definitely misfired. The Rebel player also missed using R2D2's power on Luke.



#5 Manchu

Manchu

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:12 PM

Fortunately, Luke was never really in trouble.



#6 DavicusPrime

DavicusPrime

    Member

  • Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:55 PM

I missed the whoops with the cluster missles but the fact that he never restored Skywalker's shield kept bugging me even though that didn't greatly effect the game.

At one point in the game you hear the Imperial Player talking about how he was a bit burned out from playing all day so him making mistakes wasn't a big surprise.  And the interview with the winner included his mention that he had a grand total of one demo a year ago and 4hrs of practice in their hotel room the night before.  So same story.  Everybody was noobs and the rest of us are just wannabe noobs waiting for our preorders to ship. 

-DavicusPrime



#7 VaultDweller

VaultDweller

    Member

  • Members
  • 126 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 11:53 PM

DavicusPrime said:

I missed the whoops with the cluster missles but the fact that he never restored Skywalker's shield kept bugging me even though that didn't greatly effect the game.

At one point in the game you hear the Imperial Player talking about how he was a bit burned out from playing all day so him making mistakes wasn't a big surprise.  And the interview with the winner included his mention that he had a grand total of one demo a year ago and 4hrs of practice in their hotel room the night before.  So same story.  Everybody was noobs and the rest of us are just wannabe noobs waiting for our preorders to ship. 

-DavicusPrime

 

Yes, wannabe here.  



#8 R5Don4

R5Don4

    Member

  • Members
  • 398 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 02:05 AM

 Can't wait to be Noobing out too.


Great forum http://www.afewmaneuvers.com/index

Looking for a game in the Greater Toronto Area?  We can hook you up https://www.facebook.com/groups/swgon/ Star Wars Gaming Ontario formerly known as Star Wars Miniatures Toronto


#9 Nalydd

Nalydd

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 07:32 AM

R5Don4 said:

 Can't wait to be Noobing out too.

+1

Yeah the thing with Vader's missiles annoyed me a little.

Also anyone catch the thing with the second named xwing pilot's (whose name escapes me entirely) ability about shifting his focus token to another ship after spending it.  Well he shifted it to the Ywing but didn't spend it initially.  Is this right?  The player said it was OK because he rolled dice, but surely if you don't spend the token, like the card reads, then the effect doesn't take place.  Or is it just me?



#10 ScottieATF

ScottieATF

    Member

  • Members
  • 755 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 05:45 PM

Nalydd said:

R5Don4 said:

 

 Can't wait to be Noobing out too.

 

 

+1

Yeah the thing with Vader's missiles annoyed me a little.

Also anyone catch the thing with the second named xwing pilot's (whose name escapes me entirely) ability about shifting his focus token to another ship after spending it.  Well he shifted it to the Ywing but didn't spend it initially.  Is this right?  The player said it was OK because he rolled dice, but surely if you don't spend the token, like the card reads, then the effect doesn't take place.  Or is it just me?

When he rolled his attack, he had a window where he could have spent the focus token, he did not spend it in that window.  He moved it after his opponent had rolled his defense dice.  So what he did was completely illegal.  And he did that after denying his opponent a static ability because he had already rolled his defense dice, on the same turn.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS