Jump to content



Photo

Rule Question: Order of play in the start of turn phase


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Evil Ewok

Evil Ewok

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 August 2012 - 07:40 AM

Hi,

I have a question: can I change the form of government and then build a new city? The order in the rule book implied, that the order is first, build the city and then change the form of government.

The reason why I ask is, that in one of the last played games we have the situation, that one player wants to found a city with his army figure, but before he can do that, he has to change his form of government into Republic (researched in the round before).



#2 gramis

gramis

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 01:04 PM

Evil Ewok said:

Form of government into Republic (researched in the round before).

Researched or changed in this turn after anarchy?



#3 Evil Ewok

Evil Ewok

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:50 AM

It doesn't make any difference, if he changes his form of government from anarchy or any other form, or have I forgot something important in the rules? He can changes his form of government regular and the question is whether he can changes the form of government before he founds the city or not.



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 555 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:21 AM

Well, I don't think it's an official rule but the way that the Turn order overview on page 12 of the base game rulebook is written one could surmise that the designers intention would lead to a no.

The order, as written there, is:
1 - Start of turn effects (such as Hanging Gardens granting a figure of your choice for free).
2 - Founding cities.
3 - Changing government.
Bear in mind that there are no numbers in the part of the rulebook I found it in so I don't think it's an official rule, like I said.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 KAGE13

KAGE13

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:09 AM

 I am new to this game, but I believe you could do these actions in any order you wish. 

Just by the wording in the start turn that the player may perform "any start of turn actions".

and as Fnoffen pointed out no numbering to point out they have to be done in order. 

by RAW I would say that is a benefit of that Government. 

 



#6 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 555 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:41 AM

Actually the wording "any start of turn actions" could also be interpreted as "now is the time to do start of turn actions if the player has any such actions to do".


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#7 Itchi

Itchi

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 11:09 PM

It has been uFaqed that you can change kind of gov and then build a city. There isn't specific order during all phases, like in CM you can take action in the order you want. The point is with republic. You research code of laws, change you gov to republic and then build a city with an army. It's played a lot to be able to build a city at the start of the 2nd turn. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS