Power Creep?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

• Members
  • 2,410 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:03 AM

I'm new to LCGs so I have a question for those of you who have been playing FFG's other LCGs: how does FFG avoid power creep?  Conventional wisdom says that eventually sets would need to be more powerful to sell.  Why else would you convince everyone to buy your new expansion if they're not going to use anything from it in their decks and why use things in decks when you already have equivalent or better options.  MtG handled this with the set rotation in Standard.  Decipher never really handled it with the SWCCG, and it was definitely a problem near the end of the game's publishing.  Does FFG usually avoid this with their LCGs, or can we expect to have to buy the latest expansion to be competitive?

#2 spirit

spirit

• Members
  • 417 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:53 AM

If they stick with the current pod style of building a deck by choosing an objective card that then adds 10 cards to your deck then you'll want to buy them simply to get a different objective to work with, 

#3 Dobbler

Dobbler

• Members
  • 822 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 02:29 AM

spirit said:

If they stick with the current pod style of building a deck by choosing an objective card that then adds 10 cards to your deck then you'll want to buy them simply to get a different objective to work with, 

I agree.  Since you will have the inability to add individual cards to a deck, powercreep should be less of an issue (in theory).

But it does exist in all of the other games.  AGoT has introduced a banned list, a restricted list, and has a FAQ for specific errata and clarification.

#4 cleardave

cleardave

• Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 06:57 AM