Jump to content



Photo

Rules Timing Question - Jinteki Identity Ability Timing


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Reldan

Reldan

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:34 PM

 The Jinteki Identity deals 1 Net Damage to the Runner each time an Agenda is scored or stolen.  Does this damage occur before or after the points from the agenda are scored?  Let's say a Runner with no cards in hand accesses an Agenda that gives him enough points to win the game.  

Does he die first or does he win first?



#2 rachebartmoss

rachebartmoss

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 05:56 PM

 The card says it deals the damage when an agenda is scored or stolen. That implies that the event of stealing or scoring has already happened. Therefore the damage comes after. If the damage came before the event, then you would not have scored or stolen it.



#3 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,025 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 08:17 PM

There was a long discussion about this over at BGG. The conclusion was that the runner wins first.



#4 Treguard

Treguard

    Member

  • Members
  • 202 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 02:07 AM

Huh, I thought the original verdict that the Runner had to survive the full turn in order to win, so if by liberating the last agenda they happened to flatline it would then be the Corp's victory.



#5 redocelot

redocelot

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 03:23 AM

Treguard said:

Huh, I thought the original verdict that the Runner had to survive the full turn in order to win, so if by liberating the last agenda they happened to flatline it would then be the Corp's victory.

 

Reading the pdf rulebook, page 20 states that if at any point either player has seven agenda points they immediately win the game. Since the runner would have seven agenda points prior to being flatlined, the runner should win the game in that case.



#6 ffaristocrat

ffaristocrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 04:47 AM

Treguard said:

Huh, I thought the original verdict that the Runner had to survive the full turn in order to win, so if by liberating the last agenda they happened to flatline it would then be the Corp's victory.

That was the original thinking because in classic, you had to survive the entire run before you could win. A:NR changed things so that you win as soon as you score the agenda. That's why access order is really important. There's a whole bunch of subtle changes that are probably going to trip up the older players.


If you access two cards from R&D with no cards in hand, you have to blindly choose the order you access the cards and completely deal with the effects of accessing one before accessing the other. If one is a Snare! and the other is a game-winning agenda… well… good luck.



#7 Srqt

Srqt

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:01 PM

Edit: Nvm just reread the passage I was thinking of and I had read it wrong the first time.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS