Jump to content



Photo

Search / Quest Objective Tokens question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Snakeye

Snakeye

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:56 AM

I have a couple of questions about the quest/Search tokens:

A) Can they be activated if a figure (monster or hero) is on them?

 

B) Can a figure stop on top of objective/Search tokens as a general rule?



#2 kingbobb

kingbobb

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:29 AM

Objective tokens will have rules specific to the encounter they appear in.

Search tokens:  Rules say

Search: If the hero is adjacent to or in a space containing a
search token, he may reveal the search token.

So figures may occupy search token spaces, and activating them takes a hero action.  I hadn't realized that you only had to be adjacent to it…not so easy for the OL to block them now.



#3 Snakeye

Snakeye

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:44 AM

No it is not. It's next to impossible, but then again wasting 2 monsters to block a search token is a bit OTT.

 

An objective however is another story. If you can block it by placing monsters on it, it might be a valid tactic. For the record, special rules for the objective tokens are not mentioned in the quest guide.



#4 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 06:01 AM

Masquerade Ball is one of the quests that come to mind.  The objective tokens are "captured" by the OL creatures.  In that case, you have to destroy the creature first before you can pick up the objective.

I think the rules regarding objectives are the same as search tokens (assuming creatures cannot pick up objectives per the quest rules).  You can pick them up if you are adjacent and there isn't much the OL can do about it.  I know that when I play as the OL, I'll pick my open group accordingly if I can "clog up" hallways, etc. so heroes can't get to their quest item and that forces heroes to kill my creatures first…and, in the case of masquerade ball, I used my creatures to take as many objectives as possible.

Not sure this helps answer your specific question as you are correct the rules dont' specifically say, but I feel it is a fair representation of the rules to assume the objectives are fair game even if a creature is on top of it for as long as the creature hasn't picked it up itself.



#5 Snakeye

Snakeye

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:09 AM

Thank you for your answer. Thats how me and my wife played it: if you are adjacent to it, you can pick it up regardless of who is standing on it.



#6 kingbobb

kingbobb

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:41 AM

Snakeye said:

No it is not. It's next to impossible, but then again wasting 2 monsters to block a search token is a bit OTT.

 

An objective however is another story. If you can block it by placing monsters on it, it might be a valid tactic. For the record, special rules for the objective tokens are not mentioned in the quest guide.

I don't have the quest guide handy, but Masquerade Ball is one of the quests we played, and the encounter with the guests, and rules for revealing/escorting them were included in the quest guide.  From the other quests we played with objectives, like First Blood, the rules for how to pick up, carry, and stash/escape with the objectives were included in the quest guide.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS