Jump to content



Photo

Chaos Beasts (Conversion Kit) & Morph


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 696 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:00 PM

This was also posted within the FAQ, but I chose to post it in the general forum as well, in order to solicit feedback from others and see how you are playing this scenario:

Chaos Beasts (Conversion Kit) have the Morph ability which reads:

"When this monster attacks, it uses the dice of a figure (overlord's choice) in its line of sight.  If a hero is chosen, the overlord may choose which of the hero's equipped weapons to use.  The monster cannot use any of the figure's other abilities, just the dice".

This raised several questions for us.

1) Assume that a Chaos Beast is using a hero's melee weapon (specifically the Iron BattleAxe - Act I Shop Item).  The dice rolled are Blue Red.  This weapon also provides a base Pierce 1, Surge: +2 Hearts, Surge: Pierce 1.  Can the Chaos Beast use the base Pierce 1, and activate any surge bonuses if a surge is rolled when the Blue Red dice are rolled, or can they only count the hearts which appear on the Blue Red dice?  In other words, when it states that the Chaos Beast cannot use any of the figure's other abilities, just the dice, are Pierce and utilized surges considered abilities?

2) Assume that a Chaos Beast does not have any other monsters in line of sight.  Further assume that the only hero in line of sight was smart enough during his turn to not leave himself with any equipped weapon.  What can the Chaos Beast use for an attack?  Can the Chaos Beast basically use the default attack of a fist attack, rolling just the Blue die?  Can it not attack at all?
 



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:40 PM

(1) I don't have the conversion kit. Does CB have any surge abilities of its own? The word "dice" is used twice. My initial thought is that you can't use the weapons abilities, only CB's own surgery. If CB is a ranged creature and uses Morph on a melee weapon, can it still make a ranged attack?

 

(2) Yes, I'd go with fist / blue die.
 



#3 Snakeye

Snakeye

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:28 AM

A) You just use the dice of the weapon, not the abilities of the weapons, since the monster has abilities of it's own. Similarly, the monster is a ranged monster, but it can "emulate" a melee weapon and perform a ranged attack, because that is it's attack type.

B) This is what pissed me off in an adventure where I had no heroes around me just some NPC villagers that I could not attack. According to the rules, no equiped weapons means no weapon dice. There is no mention of a hands attack or unarmed attack. So in this case your monster could not attack at all.

 

IMO, this monster is really weak and clever player(s) can completely neutralise it. It needs a default attack (1 blue + 1 yellow) in order to make it more viable



#4 Snakeye

Snakeye

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:19 AM

Snakeye said:

A) You just use the dice of the weapon, not the abilities of the weapons, since the monster has abilities of it's own. Similarly, the monster is a ranged monster, but it can "emulate" a melee weapon and perform a ranged attack, because that is it's attack type.

B) This is what pissed me off in an adventure where I had no heroes around me just some NPC villagers that I could not attack. According to the rules, no equiped weapons means no weapon dice. There is no mention of a hands attack or unarmed attack. So in this case your monster could not attack at all.

 

IMO, this monster is really weak and clever player(s) can completely neutralise it. It needs a default attack (1 blue + 1 yellow) in order to make it more viable

EDIT: I was wrongon the B) point. Found it on the rules. An unarmed attack DOES include a blue die, so the CB would attack with a blue die






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS