Jump to content



Photo

Unending Horde


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 05:48 PM

The wording on "sacrifice" in the FAQ is giving me problems. Basically the FAQ reads that you can't pull any fancy shenanigans to try and get around your unit leaving play ("dying", as imprecise as that term is)

"Sacrifice (v1.7)
Sacrifice means to remove a card you control from play. The act of sacrificing a card cannot be cancelled or prevented by other effects. After a card is sacrificed, it is placed into its owner’s discard pile."

The act of sacrificing cannot be cancelled or prevented, but can you put a sacrificed card onto the Unending Horde?

Unending Horde says:

"If your [Orc] unit would leave play, you can attach it to this card instead (it is not considered to be in play).
Action: Spend X resources to put all [Orc] units attached to this card into play in your battlefield. X is the total printed cost of attached cards. (Limit once per turn.)"

So, in my mind you can play, say, You's Bigga to sacrifice a Baby Squig, then put the Baby Squig on the Unending Horde. The Baby Squig is still sacrificed in that you killed it to make You's Bigga have an effect, and it still leaves play as the Unending Horde says it is not considered to be in play.

I keep thinking this has been talked about on these forums… Thoughts?



#2 loken14

loken14

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 06:40 PM

I my opinion your playing it  right yous bigger would still go off and the baby squig would attach top unending horde I believe that its similar to volkmar (I believe thats his name but I dont have my cards in front of me) and his ability



#3 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:26 AM

 Sounds logical.



#4 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 08:10 AM

Doc9 said:

 Sounds logical.

Haha, thanks Doc9, but that doesn't mean there is some crazy reverse-logic which would actually be correct in this case. For instance, I could see "sacrifice" being such a sacred process that you cannot possibly do anything to interrupt the unit's trip from play to the discard pile.



#5 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:02 PM

 Very true…just cause things sometimes sound logical in this game, doesn't mean that they always are.



#6 Paradoks

Paradoks

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 10:38 PM

I think that sacrifice is not interrupted in any way by Unending horde. Sacrificing causes unit to leave play, and Horde works on units leaving play. So when it's properly sacrified it changes status to "leaving play" and becomes valid target of the horde - no interruption here.



#7 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 31 August 2012 - 04:11 AM

HappyDD said:

"Sacrifice (v1.7)
Sacrifice means to remove a card you control from play. The act of sacrificing a card cannot be cancelled or prevented by other effects. After a card is sacrificed, it is placed into its owner’s discard pile."

The act of sacrificing cannot be cancelled or prevented, but can you put a sacrificed card onto the Unending Horde?

I'd agree with all above. Don't see a reason you can't put sacrificed units on Unending Horde. The rulebook language on sacrifice is mostly to prevent you from doing things like sacrificing a unit and then using a "if a unit would be destroyed…" ability.

The "After a card is sacrificed, it is placed into its owner’s discard pile." section in the rules is just telling you what to do in normal play, and the ability of UH is just overriding this via the Golden Rule.

Also, I <3 rules questions that quote all the relevant card text and rules passages :-)  I hate having to look that crap up.



#8 Philos

Philos

    Member

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:44 PM

Another Question about The Unending Horde:

Do I have to consider the Loyality costs of the orc units I want to play into my battlefield?



#9 Budmilka_fr

Budmilka_fr

    Member

  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 04 May 2013 - 12:34 AM

No. "Printed cost" doesn't include loyalty cost.



#10 Philos

Philos

    Member

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 04 May 2013 - 03:26 AM

Fine, and another question 'bout THe Unending Horde:

Are the attached units hit by Troll Vomit? I believe they are not in play, therefore not concerned.



#11 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 706 posts

Posted 04 May 2013 - 09:33 AM

They are out of play so not.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS