Jump to content



Photo

Taking control of a character with an attachment


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kamacausey

kamacausey

    Member

  • Members
  • 212 posts

Posted 17 August 2012 - 05:29 PM

 If I take control of a character with an attachment on do I gain control of the attachment while I have the character or does my opponent still control over the attachment?



#2 .Zephyr.

.Zephyr.

    Member

  • Members
  • 309 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 01:04 AM

 (1.9) Gaining Control

If a card effect allows you to take control of a non-attachment card, move that card into your playing area. If that card is an attachment, you gain control of it but it remains attached to the original character unless the card effect says otherwise. When you have taken control of a card, you are considered to be that card’s controller, but not its owner. When that card leaves play for any reason, or at the end of the game, you must return it to its owner. If it leaves play as the result of a game or card effect, it is returned to its owner’s control, but still is placed out of play. So, for example, if the card would be sent to a discard pile, it is placed in its owner’s discard pile. Note that if you already control a Heroic character, you cannot take control of a Villainous character, and vice versa. When you gain control of a card, that card’s status does not change. Thus, if you gain control of an insane or exhausted character, they remain insane or exhausted. Any time a player gains control of a committed character during a story, that character stays committed to the story but switches to its new controller’s side. The limit on unique cards still applies. You cannot gain control of or play a unique card if you already control or own a copy of that card in play.
 
>>>>>>>When an effect causes control of a card to change, control of any attachments on that card does not change. <<<<<<<<
 
The attachments remain attached to that card and will continue to affect that card as described in their card text. They also remain under control of the player who originally played them. If you gain control of a card attached to a story card, you may attach it to another story, if able. If an attached card gives you control of another player’s card, you retain control of the attached card only as long as the attached card is in play.
 
 
 
 
 
Also note that some attachments are just passive modifiers to attached characters so they still work becouse it doesnt matter for them who controls them like shotgun that gives character an ability. Other like Prize pistol will still hurt you.
 
PS Is this some kind of plan to make fun of my FAQ doesn't fix all? This is explained good, some other things are not.


#3 kamacausey

kamacausey

    Member

  • Members
  • 212 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:20 AM

 If I use Stygian eye to take control of a character with khopesh on will I control khopesh or will my opponent?



#4 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:23 AM

kamacausey said:

 If I use Stygian eye to take control of a character with khopesh on will I control khopesh or will my opponent?

Your opponent, since Stygian Eye does not give you control over attachments.



#5 Runix

Runix

    Member

  • Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:36 PM

As noted above, your opponent still controls the Khopesh even if you Stygian Eye the character.  My favorite solution for dealing with the Khopesh as Hastur is Guardian Beast - they can't trigger the Khopesh (see the FAQ, cannot trigger it if the attached character is invulnerable), and can't put another in play because it's unique.  Problem solved.   Only issue is that you have to wait until your turn to lock it down, which can be problematic in some situations.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS