Jump to content



Photo

Reanimate & the effect of Dark Pact


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 817 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:42 AM

We have a Necromancer utilizing the Reanimate.  There is a Necromancer skill card called Dark Pact.  It states:

"Your Reanimate adds 1 additional brown die to its defense pool. Each time you suffer hearts, you may choose to have your Reanimate suffer all of the hearts instead.  Each time your Reanimate suffers hearts, you may choose to suffer all of the hearts instead".

This has raised a bit of debate amongst our players.  Say you have a hero whose full health is 8 hearts.  The Reanimate is 4 hearts.  You are attacked by the OL, who does 7 damage.  Can you apply all (it does say ALL on the card) 7 damage to the Reanimate, leaving yourself fully healthy, even though 4 hearts kills the Reanimate.

In other words, can the extra damage beyond the health of the Reanimate be wiped out this way, or does it then reflect back onto the hero, with the remaining 3 damage being applied to the hero?
 



#2 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:12 PM

any2cards said:

We have a Necromancer utilizing the Reanimate.  There is a Necromancer skill card called Dark Pact.  It states:

"Your Reanimate adds 1 additional brown die to its defense pool. Each time you suffer hearts, you may choose to have your Reanimate suffer all of the hearts instead.  Each time your Reanimate suffers hearts, you may choose to suffer all of the hearts instead".

This has raised a bit of debate amongst our players.  Say you have a hero whose full health is 8 hearts.  The Reanimate is 4 hearts.  You are attacked by the OL, who does 7 damage.  Can you apply all (it does say ALL on the card) 7 damage to the Reanimate, leaving yourself fully healthy, even though 4 hearts kills the Reanimate.

In other words, can the extra damage beyond the health of the Reanimate be wiped out this way, or does it then reflect back onto the hero, with the remaining 3 damage being applied to the hero?
 

Sad to say that I don't read anything in the text of this card to suggest that it should be limited to how much health the Reanimate has.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:59 PM

I concur with Kristoff.  I see no reason why you couldn't pass all 7 damage over to the reanimate.  An attack is a single event and all damage is dealt as a lump sum.  So the reanimate is present and available for taking the attack when all 7 damage is assigned, but 3 of it gets lost when it dies after 4.

If it's any consolation, the necromancer can only do this once per turn (because after the reanimate is gone it obviously can't soak anything until he has a chance to resummon it.  So, there are two tactics I can foresee to counter a Necro who chooses to do this;

1) get two heavy hitting monsters in range of the Necro so that one can smash him after the reanimate soaks the other and dies.

2) hit the Necro with lots of little attacks so that he has to decide whether or not to kill off the reanimate before a big attack comes along.  (This would require whittling down the Reanimate to the point where one of the little attacks could also kill it, mind you.)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS