Jump to content



Photo

Chainmail; Am I missing something?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:18 AM

The act I shop has a chainmail that has two effects.

 

1) Cannot equip runes

 

2) It reduces movement to 4

 

Obviously I shortened it but you got the gist.

 

It costs 150 GP. 

 

Why on earth would someone buy this?  Am I missing something overtly obvious here?  It seems to me that it provides no net benefit.



#2 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:25 AM

 Did you happen to notice the added grey defense die on the bottom right of the card? So instead of rolling 1 gray die (about 97% of the heros will roll gray except for 2 that roll black or brown) you will get 2 gray defense dice. Leather armor does similar by giving you +1 hit point and 1 brown defense die.



#3 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:26 AM

Ok, so after posting it, I looked at it one more time and noticed a grey defense die on the right.

 

That obviously is the "net benefit" but I'm still stuck with understanding this.  Does that mean the hero gets an additional grey die (so Grisban would now get to roll TWO grey dice for defense)?  Or does it simply mean you can roll grey instead of brown…which if I recall correctly, every hero gets to do grey already so I'm leaning towards it giving you a bonus die.

 

Am I interpreting this correctly?



#4 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:28 AM

Coldmoonrising said:

 Did you happen to notice the added grey defense die on the bottom right of the card? Leather armor does similar by giving you +1 hit point and 1 brown defense die.

 

No!  I had not…but I realized it as you were posting your response.  Apologies…so it gives a bonus grey die for defense was my followup question but judging from your answer, I believe that is the correct interpretation.



#5 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:29 AM

You might notice I edited my first response, please refer to my further explanation there. I didn't intend to come across snarky (if I did).



#6 jcbbjjttt

jcbbjjttt

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 08:54 AM

schmoo34 said:

Ok, so after posting it, I looked at it one more time and noticed a grey defense die on the right.

 

That obviously is the "net benefit" but I'm still stuck with understanding this.  Does that mean the hero gets an additional grey die (so Grisban would now get to roll TWO grey dice for defense)?  Or does it simply mean you can roll grey instead of brown…which if I recall correctly, every hero gets to do grey already so I'm leaning towards it giving you a bonus die.

 

Am I interpreting this correctly?

 

You get to roll an additional Grey die when rolling defense if you have it equipped.



#7 Columbob

Columbob

    Member

  • Members
  • 147 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 02:49 AM

Page 11 of the rules:

 

Dice Icons: This area lists the dice associated with the
item. If the item is a weapon, these dice are used when
attacking with the weapon. If the item is Armor, they are
added to the player’s defense pool.



#8 Razorian

Razorian

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:12 AM

It provides an extra dice for defense. Doesn't it?

 

I think thats the reason why someone should buy it.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS