Yesterday, we began a brand new campaign, and right from the get go, we ran into an issue which is going to repeat itself over and over throughout the campaign.
It created quite the heated discussion, and I would like to get some thoughts from the rest of participants of this forum.
First, in the Rules, on page 8, under Additional Movement, you find the following:
"A hero may suffer fatigue to receive additional movement points during his turn. For each fatigue suffered, the hero receives one movement point. If the hero already has fatigue equal to his Stamina, he may not suffer any more fatigue to receive additional movement points."
Further, on page 13, under Fatigue and Stamina, you find the following:
"Heroes voluntarily suffer fatigue in order to USE SKILLS OR MOVE ADDITIONAL SPACES." Also in that paragraph "When USING SKILLS OR MOVING, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal to his Stamina". All emphasis is mine.
Now the issue:
Karnon has a Hero Ability which reads "Each time a monster attacks you, after rolling dice, you may suffer 1 fatigue to cancel 1 surge rolled on the attack". His Heroic Feat which reads "Action: Choose a minion monster adjacent to you and roll the blue attack die. If you roll and X, you miss. Otherwise that monster is defeated. Regardless of the outcome, you suffer 1 fatigue."
The heroes have utilized Karnon's Hero Ability essentially an inifinite amount of times, even suffering fatigue in excess of his stamina. They feel they can do this because his Hero Ability is not a skill (they state that skills are the skill cards within each class), and it is not moving. So, essentially what happens is that the OL can never attack Karnon and utilize surges (either through those rolled via dice or those added through OL cards), because Karnon just keeps eliminating them by using his Hero Ability.
The OL does not agree with this process. His opinion is that although it says Hero Ability, it really is a skill, and the game did not intend to allow Karnon to utilize an unlimited amount of fatigue to keep using this ability. Now, I know that eventually he will take sufficient damage to kill him, but they basically save up health potions and/or use their Healer to prevent this from happening.
Should this be permitted?
Further, the OL feels that if Karnon's fatigue suffered is equal to his Stamina, he shouldn't be allowed to use his Heroic Feat, as it requires him to suffer a fatigue, which shouldn't be allowed if he has reached his Stamina limit. Once again, the heroes disagree, as this is not a skill or moving, and feel that it should be allowed.
Now, one thing that may sway this argument, is that they happen to also have the hero Jain Fairwood in play. Her Hero Ability says "When you suffer any amount of hearts from an attack, you may choose to suffer some or all of that amount as fatigue instead; YOU CANNOT SUFFER FATIGUE IN EXCESS OF YOUR STAMINA" (Once again, the emphasis is mine).
The heroes argue that if Karnon should not be able to do what they are doing, his card would have said the same thing (in terms of not suffering fatiuge in excess of his stamina).
If anyone out there has played Karnon, or run into this issue with similar circumstances, how did you rule? How would you rule in our particular siutation?