Jump to content



Photo

Dices, ruler


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 kufel

kufel

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 06:29 AM

Does anybody knows how looks dices/ruler?

thanks!



#2 Nalydd

Nalydd

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 06:38 AM

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.



#3 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,579 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 06:56 AM

 I believe the ruler is double sided with one side green and the other red to represent the different colors of lasers fired in Star Wars. It's really just for flavor and has no effect on gameplay.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#4 wormiespice

wormiespice

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:24 AM

 one side is red ( attack ranges) and one side is green ( defence ranges)



#5 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:29 AM

 I didn't see any indication that there were multiple types of ranges. I think it's just red for rebel and green for imperial (matching the laser canon fire from the movies).



#6 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,579 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:32 AM

Wormiespice: That makes sense when considering the dice, but when would you ever need a range for defense? I can't find that in the rule book anywhere. The only times we know we measure range is for attacking, acquiring target locks, and for special abilities like Backstabber getting +1 attack dice at range 1 and Biggs forcing opponents to target him instead of an ally if he is in range of the enemy and the ally is within range 1 of Biggs. Biggs' range is the only instance that I can see as defensive.

So I'm not saying you're wrong, wormiespice, I'm just wondering in what other situations you'd use the ruler for defense. For me, I'm planning to use the red side for Rebel attacks and the green side for Imperial attacks because it's more thematic. The only thing that will stop me is if there's a valid reason for keeping red to attack and green to defense.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#7 kufel

kufel

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:47 AM

Nalydd said:

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.

This is clear :D I'd like to know what symbols (with numbers) are there, and what is ruler length.



#8 sverigesson

sverigesson

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:56 AM

kufel said:

Nalydd said:

 

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.

 

 

This is clear :D I'd like to know what symbols (with numbers) are there, and what is ruler length.

As of yet, I don't think anyone is sure about exactly how long the ruler is (don't think it was in the rulebook, but I could be wrong) or the exact distribution of the dice symbols. We'll have to see when Thursday rolls around, unless FFG tells us more stuff about the components before then.



#9 wormiespice

wormiespice

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:31 AM

 there may be a reason to use the green for defence in later expansions , i just thought that it wuold have to do with the color f the dice being the same as the 2 colors on the range ruler .



#10 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,579 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:55 AM

 Yeah, Thursday is so close, speculation is almost pointless. Nevertheless, here is a link to my predictions on the dice composition that I posted on BGG.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#11 Dog Solitude

Dog Solitude

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 11:49 AM

 The green and red side of the rulers are shown to be used interchangeably for range measurements during attacks in the rule book.  As far as they are pictured, the ranges are the same lengths, so either side could work for attacks.  I'm also of the impression that color just adds flavor.



#12 Hrathen

Hrathen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,566 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:12 PM

 Just got my dice.

red die (attack dice) has three hits, one critical hit, and two focus faces.

green die (dodge dice) has three dodge and two focus faces.

So if your attack and dodge skill are the same on average you will still hit once.


Putting an end to this distructive conflict and bringing order to the galaxy.

#13 kufel

kufel

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 August 2012 - 01:59 AM

THX Man!

Now, please tell me what is ruler length :D



#14 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 17 August 2012 - 02:29 AM

 Shoot, I forgot to actually measure the ruler, but I can tell you that speed 5 takes you approximately 2 range increments.



#15 kufel

kufel

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:46 PM

Hrathen said:

 Just got my dice.

red die (attack dice) has three hits, one critical hit, and two focus faces.

green die (dodge dice) has three dodge and two focus faces.

So if your attack and dodge skill are the same on average you will still hit once.

red die:

3 hits PLUS 1 critical hit?

or

3 hits INCLUDING 1 critical hit

?



#16 sverigesson

sverigesson

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:35 AM

 3 hits plus 1 critical hit, if I'm not mistaken.



#17 Aahzmandius_Karrde

Aahzmandius_Karrde

    Member

  • Members
  • 311 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 07:06 AM

The ruler is 30cm long, each range segment is 10cm.

The box on the other hand is only 25cm on a side.

Straight movement is in 4cm increments which is the same measurement as the base side.  So he was correct in saying a move 5 is equal to range 2.


Welcome to the FFG Star Wars RPG Index 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS