Jump to content



Photo

Cover saves for units with multiple cover values.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 03:04 PM

I was thinking how awesome it could be to run Yakov joined with a SSU observer team. Having blanks for soft cover and always being in soft cover sounds like a good idea. But what would happen if you add a commisar to them as well? Would you just use the best cover value for the whole unit or have to specify if the wound would hurt certian models?

One other quick question. Said unit with Yakov was in a heli that gets shot down. Do they get a cover save if they suffer a wound?

 

 



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:06 AM

All squad skills are shared with the hero.

I guess we can extend that to mean that the cover value also gets shared.



#3 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 05:03 AM

Right, but the commissar has a different value of cover than the observers. So do I roll and say ok I'm using the obersver cover, so if there are wounds they go to the observers, or can I just use the best cover and then allocate wounds how i want?



#4 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 05:17 AM

It's a single unit, you can't have different cover values. I'd say you just use the best cover granted by the Observers.



#5 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 10:02 AM

Mr_Brightside said:

One other quick question. Said unit with Yakov was in a heli that gets shot down. Do they get a cover save if they suffer a wound?

I don't know if it has been official stated, but wouldn't the attack from your transport being destroyed be considered a CC attack?  Being hit in the head with the collapsing roof of your heli is about as close as it gets.  I would say "No cover save"



#6 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 10:40 AM

I re-read the rules about transports, and it states that on a hit (when the transport is destroyed) the model is eliminated or a health is removed from a hero. Since it doesn't specify that this is a wound, I don't think that a save would apply to it. Just my take on the rules.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS