Jump to content



Photo

Rules Question (Wendigo & Action = Exhaust?)


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Atropos

Atropos

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 01:17 PM

Hey All,

Haven't played yet, waiting for my game group to stop enjoying the summer.

 

First Question: I read the rules a couple of times and  ► indicates it uses an action but nothing about exhausting. I watched 2 reviews of the game on youtube and both people said with the arrow you exhaust the card. Logically it looks like a "taping" symbol but other cards specifically state "exhaust"t. Did I miss something in the rules or can you technically  use the arrow ability twice?

 

Next question comes from the conversion kit: Wendigo stealthy ability says: "Each attack that target this monster must roll 3 additional range beyond the normal required amount or the attack is a miss." Does this include melee? I'm thinking no because there is no required amount so it only applies if there is a required amount but I want to see what you guys think.



#2 Schmiegel

Schmiegel

    Member

  • Members
  • 276 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 01:32 PM

 For it to remain at all consistent with the stealth ability from 1e, I would think that the melee range needed to hit would be 0 + 3 (for the added range requirement), so you'd need 3 range rolled to hit a Wendigo with a melee attack. Stealth worked equally well against both melee and ranged attacks in 1e, so it would be surprising if that changed in 2e.



#3 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 01:35 PM

1) You may use any skill with the arrow icon as an action. If that skill does not specifically state that the card is exhausted and you meet the requirements of the card, then you may perform that skill as a second action.

2) Wendigo pertains only to ranged attacks. Melee does not test for range.  However, there may be contention in this area since Card rules supersede the Rule Book and the wording might be misconstrued.  Post it on the FAQ if you think otherwise.



#4 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 01:36 PM

 The arrow does NOT mean exhaust.  Anyone who says otherwise is wrong.  If an ability must be exhausted to use, it will use the word "exhaust", and this word appears on zero monster cards.



#5 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 02:10 PM

My concern is about the Stealthy ability here. If you look at the hps of a Wendigo, they're relatively low (from a 3 hero game it was 4/7 for minion/master). The stealthy ability pertains to melee as well and this is the only instance where melee must roll a 3 (and I'm gonna say a 4 with reach but that's debatable).

As someone stated, stealthy affected both melee and range in 1st edition and it still affects it here as well in 2nd edition. I recently used the Wendigos for the "A Fat Goblin" quest, 2nd encounter and the melee had no issues attacking the Wendigos since 2/6 rolls can end up a 2 or a miss, the other numbers are 3-6. Therefor the chances of a melee missing are only slightly higher. (33% vs a normal 16.7%)

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS