Jump to content



Photo

Sacrifice and Non Combat Damage


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Houd1n1

Houd1n1

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:59 AM

Hello, just a quick question:

If we play a card that has an ACTION that say for example "All opponents must sacrifice a unit in quest zone", can we cancel that ACTION with another ACTION that say "Cancel the action just played". In rules it says sacrifice is absolute and cannot be cancelled by other effects, yet it also says that actions can be cancelled by other actions.

Same goes fro Non Combat Damage. If an ACTION say "deal X combat damage to this" can we cancel it with another ACTION that says "cancel the action just played" ?

Thank you.



#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 509 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:23 AM

Yes.

 

In your first example, the sacrifice will happen when the action resolves. You respond to it with another action that cancels it, and (assuming there are no further responses) then you resolve the action chain in reverse order, so the action that would have resulted in the sacrifice gets canceled and no sacrifice takes place.

 

It's the same in your second example, the damage only gets dealt if the effect resolves successfully. If it gets canceled, that doesn't happen.

 

Note that an action that cancels another action or a card just played needs to be on the same action chain as the action/card it cancels. You cannot wait until the chain is resolving.



#3 Houd1n1

Houd1n1

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 12:55 PM

Thank you friend, you helped me. Cheers!

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS