Jump to content



Photo

Koshka and Grand'ma


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Wolfscout

Wolfscout

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 09:58 AM

 So can Koshka and Grand'ma be separate units on the board or must they be used together with Koshka piloting? There is mention in the rules that she can board or disembark as she will, but nothing about her HAVING to pilot the walker. Also if the walker is destroyed does Koshka disembark and fight on her own. FURTHER, if she is piloting the vehicle are her points paid for with the vehicle or are her points added to the army total as if she were a separate unit?



#2 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 04:49 PM

Koshka and Grandma may be used as separate units or together. Koshka counts as passenger, see does not pilot the walker. Again they are two separate unis and so yes you must pay points for both of them



#3 Wolfscout

Wolfscout

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 07:36 PM

Thought so but wasn't sure. Thanks!



#4 badgertheking

badgertheking

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:12 AM

can you use fighting spirit when Koshka is with a different unit or is it onyl used wehn piloting Grand MA?



#5 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:17 AM

Think so.                      



#6 badgertheking

badgertheking

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 02:47 AM

so if grand ma moves then fighting spirit can be activated?

and then if Koshka leaves grandma and attacks she will also get to use fighting spirit in the same turn?



#7 badgertheking

badgertheking

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 02:50 AM

and one other thing…..

If Koshka is piloting Grand Ma does Koshka need to activate and pass if she wants to stay piloting Grand Ma like troops do now when in a vehicle with carry skill?



#8 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:38 PM

badgertheking said:

so if grand ma moves then fighting spirit can be activated?

and then if Koshka leaves grandma and attacks she will also get to use fighting spirit in the same turn?


The fighting spirit skill states a move action must be made before it is used.
 

Yes as long as Koshka and Grandma are on the same square and therefor part of the same unit.
 

 



#9 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:42 PM

badgertheking said:

and one other thing…..

If Koshka is piloting Grand Ma does Koshka need to activate and pass if she wants to stay piloting Grand Ma like troops do now when in a vehicle with carry skill?

I don't understand what you mean activate and pass? Are you by chance refering to Dust Warfare?



#10 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 01:57 AM

badgertheking said:

and one other thing…..

If Koshka is piloting Grand Ma does Koshka need to activate and pass if she wants to stay piloting Grand Ma like troops do now when in a vehicle with carry skill?

No, the pair just count as a unit in the same way as heroes with soldier units.



#11 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 03:35 AM

Ineed. She's not the same as a carried unit.



#12 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 03:53 AM

So in that case do they share wounds?



#13 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:23 AM

Mr_Brightside said:

So in that case do they share wounds?



No.



#14 badgertheking

badgertheking

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:42 AM

Seems very flawed to me…

Either she is part of the unit and shares wounds or she is riding it like a transport and acts seperate…. It makes piloting quite useless as it stands as there is no benifit other than the skill share….. Which is no different to when a hero joins a unit.

 

so if grand ma moves then fighting spirit can be activated?

and then if Koshka leaves grandma and attacks she will also get to use fighting spirit in the same turn?

Will this work?

 



#15 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:31 AM

Why not just read the rules carefully?

When piloting a vehicle, both units activate at the same time, unless the Hero intends to disembark the vehicle. If the Hero disembarks he must do so before the vehicle activates during the turn.

A pilot works neither exactly like a Hero attached to a squad, nor a soldier being carried by a transport. The pilot shares his skills with the walker and activates along with it, but they do not share wounds. For the hero to disembark and use his skill, he must do so before the walker is activated, so they can't both use the skill in the same turn.

 



#16 badgertheking

badgertheking

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:54 AM

Hahahaha Funny…..

How many times have the rules changed…….



#17 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:59 AM

badgertheking said:

How many times have the rules changed…….

Pilot rules? None.



#18 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 04:51 PM


 We already had the discussion a month or more ago. I agree that it seems logical and within the game mechanics that pilot heroes should share hit points with what they are piloting. The same as a hero shares hit points with any other unit it joins.
 

Further it would justify the point cost of the hero and make the SSU more competitive.
 

All of this however is mute as the rules boys at FRG or Dust say no they do not share hit points I asked.
 

They maintain that the pilot is a passenger and does not therefor share hit points.
The rules boys are not effected by logic or common sense. They have proved that many times, sucks don't it!



#19 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:04 PM

 Ummm how in VK name sharing a human person's health with pieces of  metal and stuff seems logic?:D 

BUt for real i don't rly get the pilot idea. After using her ability and getting walker destroyed they schould be able to join a squad IMO.



#20 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:31 PM

What I mean is when a hero joins a squad they share hit points. So if a hero pilots a walker wouldn't they become one unit and therefor share hit points?

Besides the the the Grandma Koshka combination isn't worth the points any other way.

I am not saying the the two merge but the pilot matters. You can put me in the best fighter plane in the world and guess what? Its going to crash because I can't fly a plane.

As for the join another squad that makes sense to me, but again the rules boys say no!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS