Jump to content



Photo

Lash the Prisoner/Slave Pen


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Junglecat

Junglecat

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 05:24 AM

Can you combo the actions on the DE tactic card "Lash the Prisoner!" and the DE support card "Slave Pen"? First, play Lash the Prisoner and sacrifice a unit for 2 resources and since I'm sacrificing a unit, take the Slave Pen action and put a resource token on that card. Is that legal or can I not stack actions like that. I started trying to read some timing of actions thread/faqs but my eyes started to glaze over because it all sounds like legaleese (I have no idea how to spell that imaginary word) when I'm not dealing with the example that's currently in my head.

While I'm on the subject, If I have 2 Slave Pens in play and I sacrifice 1 unit, do I put a resource on 1 Slave Pen or 2?



#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:25 AM

In the case of Slave Pen, the sacrifice is a cost. Whenever a card text says "do X to do Y", the X (in this case "Sacrifice a unit") is part of the cost. If you sacrifice the unit to pay the cost of one effect, it can't be used to pay that of another, just like you can't use a resource token in your pool to pay for two different cards. So you can sacrifice a single unit to one of your Slave Pens, but not to both (not unless you first bring it back into play somehow).

 

The sacrifice is not a cost of Lash the Prisoner, but it works very much the same. For Lash the Prisoner, you only get to draw cards if you really did sacrifice a unit ("If you do …"). You can't sacrifice a unit that's already gone, and since costs are paid immediately when you trigger an effect, a unit sacrificed to Slave Pen will be gone and cannot be sacrificed to Lash the Prisoner.

 

 



#3 Junglecat

Junglecat

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:47 AM

Thanks again for your help Mallumo.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS