Jump to content



Photo

Starting your turn on Dracula's location


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 skarycory

skarycory

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 07:46 AM

Hi everyone, 

I understand that if you move onto Dracula's square, you must fight him (assuming an encounter doesn't stop this). My question is, what about when you START your turn in Dracula's square? Do you have to fight him then on your turn (if you can't leave the space because of fog, for example)? Or can you choose not to engage him?

The instructions specify that:

On a Hunter’s turn, he may first move to a new location. If that location contains an encounter, the Hunter must face it and deal with its effects. If Dracula is in the location, the Hunter must battle the Count.

Does this mean that you only have to fight Dracula on your turn if you moved to a NEW location that he is in? Or that you must fight him on your turn if he is in your location, regardless of whether you started there or not?

Thanks! Great game. 

 



#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,258 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 11:29 AM

Nope. You have to fight the Count everytime you're in a location he is in at the start of your action phase and you are not hindered to have an action phase by anything else. Sorry for the late reply, no light bleeping for new messages on this forum on my PC for a very long time.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Teetoo

Teetoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:00 PM

Since the move phase comes before the action phase does that mean the hunter can move away if they start their turn on a location with the Count? Also if the Count starts his turn on a location with a hunter can he move away?



#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,258 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:43 PM

Teetoo said:

Since the move phase comes before the action phase does that mean the hunter can move away if they start their turn on a location with the Count? Also if the Count starts his turn on a location with a hunter can he move away?

Yes to both. Sometimes it's wiser avoid combat (for the Hunters: no stakes, it's night, the hunter's biten and so on; for the Count: if it's day, the hunter's packed with stakes. paucity of good events to protect you, Sister Agatha in play, and so on). As you said, combat happens during the Action phase, hence everyone is free to move away (if normal movement rules allow this)


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#5 Teetoo

Teetoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:21 PM

Thank you Julia. I love this game, very unique. I can't wait to try Letters from Whitechapel.



#6 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,258 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 09:43 PM

Teetoo said:

Thank you Julia. I love this game, very unique. I can't wait to try Letters from Whitechapel.

;-) you're welcome


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS