Jump to content



Photo

Magic Staff question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 suplex

suplex

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 05:51 PM

 When using the surge ability which attacks an additional unit for 1dmg, does that unit get to roll a defense die? Or is it an unavoidable attack?

Thanks!



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 06:39 PM

Don't have the card in front of me right now.  Does it actually say "attack"?  I would say the damage can't be blocked by defense dice, because it is due to an ability, not an attack roll.  I'd feel more confident if they used a word other than "attack" on the card, or used the words "attack roll" in the rules.

"Pg.13: Note: Defense dice are used to cancel damage only during an attack.  If an ability causes a figure to suffer damage for any other reason, that figure cannot roll defense dice to cancel any of that damage."



#3 Draffut

Draffut

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 07:27 PM

suplex said:

 When using the surge ability which attacks an additional unit for 1dmg, does that unit get to roll a defense die? Or is it an unavoidable attack?

Thanks!

No, only units being attacked roll defense.  If an ability lets multiple units be attacked, like the Shadow Dragon's breath and Merriods flail, the ability will specify it.



#4 suplex

suplex

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:44 PM

 Well that's good to know. Thanks guys. 

Pretty good weapon if it does unavoidable damage haha






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS