Jump to content



Photo

Season of the Witch "no win"


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 04:05 PM

Is it intentional in the Season of the Witch PoD expansion to create a no-win scenario for the investigators?  If an investigator uses Nola's Journal on  the Irregular Wall before finding the Spectral Guard (finding clue 2 before clue 3), he is unable to recover the alien statue, and thus unable to destroy the Black Book, and thus unable to win the game with objective 1A.  This was quite disappointing.  Is it intentional?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 07:57 PM

Yes, it is possible for that to happen, but IMO, the investigators have only themselves to blame. Why, especially when you have a scenario-critical item (does it even have the Key keyword on it?) would you EVER go to somewhere but the next Clue?

www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/686769/problems-with-the-season-of-the-witch-keeper-choic


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:29 PM

Dam said:

Yes, it is possible for that to happen, but IMO, the investigators have only themselves to blame. Why, especially when you have a scenario-critical item (does it even have the Key keyword on it?) would you EVER go to somewhere but the next Clue?

www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/686769/problems-with-the-season-of-the-witch-keeper-choic

Oh, yes.  I know it is possible for it to happen as it very much DID happen.  But I'm wondering if it was intentional or a design flaw.  Anybody know?



#4 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,587 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:39 AM

I'd put my money on "design flaw." Mansions and its expansions are notoriously rife with flaws, and nobody likes a situation where one side or the other cannot possibly win. There's no way this was intentional.

I've lined out text on the Journal to show that it isn't discarded when used as a key.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS