Jump to content



Photo

Do PDS participate in ground battles each round?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 LilClinkin

LilClinkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 12:20 AM

^Refer to topic title.

I know that each PDS on a planet where an invasion is about to occur receives a pre-emptive strike at enemy GF, but I can't clarify from the rule book whether your PDS continue to fire at the invading enemy GF troops each combat round.



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 551 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 01:04 AM

 They do not. PDS:s can only fire into orbit and are strictly Surface to Air.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:58 AM

 See Page 24 of the TI3 rule book regarding invasion combat.

PDS fire (along with planetary bombardment) is resolved before combat between the GFs..

Then combat is resolved between surviving invading GFs and the surviving defending GFs. The PDSs do not fire in this part of the invasion combat.



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 551 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:51 AM

A thematic way to explain why PDS:s can fire at GF before combat and not during is that they actually fire at the landing drop ships / drop pods / what have yous before they touch down.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 11:35 AM

 I always liked that imagery as the fluff reason as to why.. It's the way I picture it in my head.



#6 LilClinkin

LilClinkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 01:21 PM

Thanks for your help guys =)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS