Jump to content



Photo

Two melee weapons question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jim_t_ca

jim_t_ca

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 03:45 PM

Since the "Weapons Mastery" card implies that you can attack using two melee weapons, I need a clarification on how you can do this. Maybe I'm blind but I can't find a reference to it in the rulebook. On page 9 it states under ATTACK that "he may use one of his equipped weapons to attack a space containing a monster." And under "Declare Weapon and Target" it states "The attacking player chooses which of his equipped weapons to use for this attack…"  Now I understand the need to choose a primary weapon for the attack but what if anything is the benefit of a second melee weapon? Now on page 12 it reads,"Only abilities on the chosen weapon may be used;" (Understood, but here is where I get a bit confused.) "if equipped with two weapons, abilities on the other weapon are ignored for the attack" Now does that mean only the "abilities" and NOT the dice?  i.e. If I use a Steel Broadsword as primary with a Light Hammer secondary do I roll 2 blue,1 red and a yellow die ignoring the hammer's "ability " to boost or stun? 

I hope I explained my issue well enough.Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.



#2 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 04:00 PM

Weapon Mastery states "Each time you perform an attack with either 1 Melee weapon with 2 hand icons or 2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each, you may add 1 surge to the results". So, no when equipped with 2 Melee weapons, you do not get the benefits of both on a single attack. You choose one or the other. But, with Weapon Mastery, you get an extra surge to use with the weapon you attack with. Having 2 Melee weapons just gives you a choice in attacks. But, you use one or the other with a single attack.



#3 Columbob

Columbob

    Member

  • Members
  • 147 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 01:19 AM

You choose one of the equipped weapons and you ignore the other for that attack. The only benefit of equipping a second weapon is for added versatility, that's it that's all.

 

Weapon mastery does add a surge though and one of the heroes from the conversion kit also has a power that uses 2 hand weapons, even though no class starts with 2 hand weapons as things stand.



#4 jjcole

jjcole

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 02:04 AM

Columbob said:

Weapon mastery does add a surge though and one of the heroes from the conversion kit also has a power that uses 2 hand weapons, even though no class starts with 2 hand weapons as things stand.

Doesn't Berserker start with a two-handed axe? I could be wrong, I don't have access to my cards right now but I remember thinking that it would be strange if you used One Fist as a Berserker.



#5 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 02:07 AM

jjcole said:

Columbob said:

 

Weapon mastery does add a surge though and one of the heroes from the conversion kit also has a power that uses 2 hand weapons, even though no class starts with 2 hand weapons as things stand.

 

 

Doesn't Berserker start with a two-handed axe? I could be wrong, I don't have access to my cards right now but I remember thinking that it would be strange if you used One Fist as a Berserker.

 

I have a feeling that he means the character starts with 2 single hand weapons. All the others only start with 1.



#6 jjcole

jjcole

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 06:07 AM

wootersl said:

jjcole said:

 

Columbob said:

 

Weapon mastery does add a surge though and one of the heroes from the conversion kit also has a power that uses 2 hand weapons, even though no class starts with 2 hand weapons as things stand.

 

 

Doesn't Berserker start with a two-handed axe? I could be wrong, I don't have access to my cards right now but I remember thinking that it would be strange if you used One Fist as a Berserker.

 

 

 

I have a feeling that he means the character starts with 2 single hand weapons. All the others only start with 1.

Right, my mistake, I was checking all the new posts at once and didn't notice the thread topic when I replied. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS